The 98 Players Nominated For The 2017 Golden Boy Award

| Last updated 

The 98 Players Nominated For The 2017 Golden Boy Award

The Golden Boy award shortlist for 2017 and as usual, it's a stacked list of talent.

Past winners include Wayne Rooney, Lionel Messi, Sergio Aguero, Isco, Paul Pogba, Raheem Sterling and Anthony Martial - with whoever wins typically going on to achieve great things in the game.

A total of 98 players have been nominated for this year's award, run by Tuttosport since 2003 and there's plenty of presence from the Premier League.

14 players currently contracted to Premier League clubs make the cut, with Marcus Rashford undeniably one of the favourites to win the award after he burst onto the block at Manchester United.


The 19-year old scored on his Manchester United and England debuts, appeared for his country at the European Championships and has become one of the top talents in European football.

Image: PA

Rashford's teammate Timothy Fosu-Mensah is on the list, while across town there are four Manchester City representatives on the list in youngsters Tosin Adarabioyo, Pablo Maffeo, FC Twente loanee Enes Unal and Gabriel Jesus, who started his City career on fire after his £27m move with three goals in three starts before picking up a metatarsal injury.


Image: PA

Liverpool hot-shot Ben Woodburn is nominated, as is Tom Davies - the 18-year old has become a regular at Everton after impressing in his debut season at Goodison Park and recently put pen to paper on a new five-year contract.


Image: PA

Stoke City duo Ramadan Sobhi and Thibaud Verlinden, Sunderland's Joel Asuro, Tottenham's Cameron Carter-Vickers, West Brom's Jonathan Leko and Chelsea's Dominic Solanke make up the spots filled by Premier League players.

But there are a whole host of talents across Europe under 21 who deservedly get a look-in.

AC Milan goalkeeper Gianluigi Donnarumma, Monaco sensation Kylian Mbappe, Anderlecht's Youri Tielemans, Borussia Dortmund's Ousmane Dembele, Bayern Munich midfielder and current holder Renato Sanches, and Ajax pair Kasper Dolberg and Justin Kluivert are among the big hitters with a chance of claiming the award.


Image: PA

Here is the list in full:

Gianluigi Donnarumma (Milan)


Mile Svilar (Anderlecht)

Alban Lafont (Toulouse)

Lazar Karevic (OFK Grbalj)

Antonis Stergiakis (Slavia Sofia)

Luca Zidane (Real Madrid)

Tosin Adarabioyo (Manchester City)

Julen Arellano (Barcelona / Osasuna)

Cameron Carter-Vickers (Tottenham)

Diogo Dalot (Porto)

Matthijs De Ligt (Ajax)

Timothy Fosu-Mensah (Manchester United)

Theo Hernandez (Atletico Madrid / Alaves)

Pol Lirola (Sassuolo)

Cristian Manea (Mouscron)

Adrian Marin (Villarreal / Leganes)

Aaron Martin (Espanyol)

Paolo Medina (Real Madrid)

Mere Jorge (Sporting Gijon)

Felix Passlack (Borussia Dortmund)

Malang Sarr (Nice)

Dayot Upamecano (RB Salzburg / Leipzig)

Erik Andersson (Malmo)

Claude Adjapong (Sassuolo)

Maxime Baila Lopez (Marseille)

Nicolò Barella (Cagliari)

Aymen Barkok (Eintracht Frankfurt)

Vahan Bichakhchyan (Shirak Gyumri)

Pape Cheikh (Celta Vigo)

Federico Chiesa (Fiorentina)

Ante Coric (Dinamo Zagreb)

Tom Davies (Everton)

Daniel Da Silva (Rome)

Amadou Diawara (Naples)

Mikkel Duelund (Midtiylland)

Sergei Eremenko (Basel)

Kolbeinn Finnsson (Groningen)

Christian Frydek (Sparta Prague)

Ianis Hagi (Fiorentina)

Kai Havertz (Bayer Leverkusen)

Benjamin Henrichs (Bayer Leverkusen)

Nanitamo IKONE (Montpellier)

Bozhidar Kraev (Levski Sofia)

Manuel Locatelli (Milan)

Pablo Maffeo (Manchester City)

Arne Maier (Hertha Berlin)

Jean-Victor Makengo (Caen)

Emre Mor (Borussia Dortmund)

Manu Morlanes (Villarreal)

Valentino Müller (Altach)

Ruben Neves (Porto)

Abdelhak Nouri (Ajax)

Abdulkhadir Omur (Trabzonspor)

Javier Ontiveros (Malaga)

Mikel Oyarzabal (Real Sociedad)

Renato Sanches (Bayern Munich)

Gerson Santos Da Silva (Rome)

Ferran Sarsanedas (Barcelona)

Jari Schuurman (Willem II)

Youri Tielemans (Anderlecht)

Idrissa Touré (Schalke 04)

Daniil Utkin (Krasnodar)

Nikola Vlasic (Hajduk Split)

Sam Schreck (Bayer Leverkusen)

Cristian Rivera (Eibar)

Fabian Benko (Bayern Munich)

Joel Asoro (Sunderland)

Jean-Kevin Augustin (PSG)

Ousmane Dembelé (Borussia Dortmund)

Kasper Dolberg (Ajax)

Bréel Embolo (Schalke 04)

Malcom Filipe (Bordeaux)

José Gomes (Benfica)

Nedim Hadzic (Sarajevo)

Alexander Isak (Borussia Dortmund)

Gabriel Jesus (Manchester City)

Dejan Joveljic (Red Star)

Dawid Kownacki (Lech Poznan)

Lazaros Lamprou (Panionios)

Jonathan Leko (West Bromwich Albion)

Christopher Nkunku (PSG)

Jens Odgaard (Lyngby)

Rui Pedro (Porto)

Ezequiel Ponce (Granada)

Alejandro Pozo Pozo (Seville)

Christian Pulisic (Borussia Dortmund)

Sobhy Ramadan (Stoke City)

Marcus Rashford (Manchester United)

Dominic Solanke (Chelsea / Cambuur)

Borna Sosa (Dinamo Zagreb)

Sander Svendsen (Molde)

Enes Unal (Manchester City / Twente)

Thibaud Verlinden (Stoke City)

Timur Zhamaletdinov (CSKA Moscow)

Benjamin Woodburn (Liverpool)

Justin Kluivert (Ajax)

Youssef En Nesyri (Malaga)

Kylian Mbappe (Monaco)

You can vote for your winner on the Tuttosport website.

Topics: Gabriel Jesus, Football, Marcus Rashford

Josh Lawless

Chosen for YouChosen for You


Jose Mourinho Says England Played With Fear And Were ‘Set Up Not To Lose’ Against Scotland

in 33 minutes

Most Read StoriesMost Read


Liverpool’s Thiago Alcantara Says He ‘Hates Modern Football’ In Astonishing Rant

36 minutes ago