To make sure you never miss out on your favourite NEW stories, we're happy to send you some reminders

Click 'OK' then 'Allow' to enable notifications

Not now

Lionel Messi Claims World's Best Playmaker Award 2019 For Fourth Time

| Last updated 

Lionel Messi Claims World's Best Playmaker Award 2019 For Fourth Time

By Mike Parrott

Lionel Messi has won the IFFHS Award for World's best Playmaker in 2019. Messi beat Kevin De Bruyne and Eden Hazard.

Messi is known as one of the best Playmakers of his Generation and the International Federation of Football History & Statistics have given him an award for that with their annual Playmaker award.

The diminutive Argentine received 299 points from the IFFHS who received over 214 points higher than second. De Bruyne came in second place with 85 points. Roberto Firmino and Bernardo Silva rounded out the top five of the award.

Football experts in 90 countries from all continents were again impressed by the regular performances of Messi, who holds the all-time record of the IFFHS most Awards with ten in nine years.

Messi is now tied with former teammate, Xavi with four playmaker awards to their names.

The Argentine has also won four awards as top division scorer for the IFFHS as well as two awards for top International scorer.

More like this

Chosen for YouChosen for You


Eagle-eyed fans have only noticed Bukayo Saka cuts holes in his socks, the reason why is fascinating

7 minutes ago

Most Read StoriesMost Read

Cristiano Ronaldo celebrated as if he had given Portugal the lead, but stadium announcer gave Bruno Fernandes the goal

15 hours ago