To make sure you never miss out on your favourite NEW stories, we're happy to send you some reminders

Click 'OK' then 'Allow' to enable notifications

Not now

23 Legends Named On Premier League Hall Of Fame Shortlist

| Last updated 

23 Legends Named On Premier League Hall Of Fame Shortlist

23 legends have been named on a stacked shortlist for the Premier League Hall of Fame.

After Alan Shearer and Thierry Henry became the inaugural inductees, a number of fellow Premier League greats are in contention to join the class of 2021.

The Premier League released the nominees on Monday evening, with a whole host of legends making the cut.

Rules stipulated that players had to have retired before August 2020, which would explain why Wayne Rooney has been omitted.



Here are the 23 names in full:

Tony Adams


David Beckham

Dennis Bergkamp

Sol Campbell

Eric Cantona


Andy Cole

Ashley Cole

Didier Drogba

Rio Ferdinand


Les Ferdinand

Robbie Fowler

Steven Gerrard

Roy Keane


Frank Lampard

Matt Le Tissier

Michael Owen

Peter Schmeichel

Paul Scholes

John Terry

Robin van Persie

Nemanja Vidic

Patrick Vieira

Ian Wright

Fans are now able to cast their votes on the official Premier League website to decide which of the aforementioned stars will be inducted into the 2021 Hall of Fame.

They will be able to select six from the list of 23, and those with the most votes will become members of the recently created Hall of Fame celebrating excellence in the English top flight post-1992.

Image: PA
Image: PA

Voting is open until 9 May, 6pm BST time.

Reflecting on his achievements being recognised, Arsenal legend and four-time Golden Boot winner Henry said: "To be inducted alongside Alan Shearer as the two first inductees into the Premier League Hall of Fame is more than special.

"When I was young, I was just trying to make sure I could get a pair of boots and now we're talking about the Hall of Fame.

"During my career I wanted to play hard and make sure I was fighting for the cause, because that's all the fans want to see."

Premier League record goalscorer Shearer added: "When you look at some of the unbelievable players to have graced the Premier League - week in, week out, year in, year out - I feel very honoured to join the Hall of Fame.

"I have to thank all of my team-mates, as well as the managers and coaches that I've worked with.

"All I ever wanted to be was a professional footballer. It was my dream to do that, my dream to win trophies and my dream to score at St James' Park, to wear the number nine black-and-white shirt and it was fantastic. I enjoyed every minute of it."

Which six stars do you think are deserving of an induction?

Sound off in the comments.

Topics: Frank Lampard, Paul Scholes, John Terry, Patrick Vieira, Football, Dennis Bergkamp, Premier League, Steven Gerrard, Eric Cantona

Josh Lawless
More like this

Chosen for YouChosen for You


France's Squad Depth Ahead Of The 2022 World Cup In Qatar Is Frighteningly Good

9 hours ago

Most Read StoriesMost Read


Kylian Mbappe Will Snub Real Madrid And REMAIN At PSG, Claims Transfer Expert

17 hours ago