To make sure you never miss out on your favourite NEW stories, we're happy to send you some reminders

Click 'OK' then 'Allow' to enable notifications

Not now

The World Under-20 Team Of The Year Has Been Named And Revealed

Alex Reid

| Last updated 

The World Under-20 Team Of The Year Has Been Named And Revealed

The World Youth Team of the Year has been announced by the International Federation of Football History and Statistics - and two Premier League players make the cut.

The IFFHS XI features the best under-20 players worldwide over the past 12 months, so no surprise to see Borussia Dortmund phenomenon Erling Haaland as the striker. The Norwegian has already reached 20 Champions League goals in only 14 games. Stunning.

He's joined by a couple of red-hot prospects from Barcelona and Real Madrid: 18-year-old Ansu Fati (who scored his first goal for Spain in September) and Brazilian international winger Rodrygo.

The two Premier League entrants come in central midfield and defence. Phil Foden is a deserved pick for his sublime form over the past year, breaking into an all-star Manchester City midfield and becoming a key player for England.

Leicester's French centre-back Wesley Fofana gets less fanfare than Foden, but he's slotted in incredibly smoothly this season and is already getting attention from Europe's biggest clubs.

Milan's young playmaker Sandro Tonali joins Foden in midfield, while Rennes ace Eduardo Camavinga - already a full France international at age 18 - deservedly takes the third slot.

There's no place yet, however, for Barca's young star Pedri. English youngsters such as Borussia Dortmund's Jude Bellingham and Arsenal's Bukaya Saka are also absent.

Alphonso Davies, Bayern Munich's brilliant Canadian who's somehow still just 20, takes the left-back place. His Bayern teammate (currently on loan at Hoffenheim) Chris Richards also appears, with his fellow US international Sergino Dest in the right-back spot.

The full IFFHS World Youth Team of the Year is below. Let us know your thoughts in the comments.

GK: Ersin Destanoglu

RB: Sergino Dest

CB: Wesley Fofana

CB: Chris Richards

LB: Alphonso Davies

MF: Sandro Tonali

MF: Phil Foden

MF: Eduardo Camavinga

RW: Rodrygo

LW: Ansu Fati

FW: Erling Haaland

All imagery: PA Images/IFFHS

Topics: Phil Foden, Rodrygo, Erling Haaland, Premier League, Ansu Fati, Eduardo Camavinga, La Liga

Alex Reid
More like this

Chosen for YouChosen for You


Wojciech Szczesny lost a €100 bet with Lionel Messi over controversial VAR penalty decision

4 hours ago

Most Read StoriesMost Read

It's 4am in Australia but the scenes are crazy as they book spot in World Cup last 16

11 hours ago