Galatasaray Youngster Displays Great Sportsmanship By Deliberately Missing Penalty
A 13-year old Galatasaray youth player has received widespread praise on social media for his brilliant act of sportsmanship.
Beknaz Almazbekov was awarded a penalty when he went down in the area during a game against Istanbulspor, with the referee immediately pointing to the spot.
However, as replays showed, Almazbekov appeared to lose his balance rather than be clipped or fouled by the defender.
:flag_tr: Galatasaray U14s captain Beknaz Almazbekov was awarded a penalty against Istanbulspor.
:x: He believed the penalty was awarded incorrectly...
...so intentionally missed the penalty to make up for the mistake.
:clap: Fair play pic.twitter.com/QxP3cRrWX6
- Elite FC (@EliteFCAcademy) March 27, 2019
Fair play: Galatasaray youngster intentionally misses penalty pic.twitter.com/CxsWX9WWZy
- Guardian sport (@guardian_sport) March 26, 2019
So when it came to taking the penalty, the Galatasaray captain promptly put the penalty wide - earning applause from the opposition goalkeeper as well as handshakes from several outfield players.
England legend Gary Lineker also gave his approval to the unique sportsmanship on social media.
More Like ThisMore Like This
Galatasaray were only winning 1-0 at the time of the incident, which made the gesture even more admirable. People have called for the professional game to feature more fair conduct along these lines, but it is worth remembering that Romelu Lukaku demonstrated incredible honesty for Belgium during the World Cup.
Lukaku earned the respect of many after convincing referee Jair Marrufo to not give a penalty kick when he went down in the box.
Lukaku caught by the keeper in the box & goes over.... but, pointedly, immediately raises his hand to acknowledge there was no penalty & he wasn't trying to con the referee. Great to see #BELvTUN
- Joel Taylor (@JoelTaylorhack) June 23, 2018
Romelu Lukaku falling in the box and then immediately marking to the referee that it wasn't a penalty and there was no touch.
What a man :heart:#BELTUN #WorldCup pic.twitter.com/KEdNpil2sh
- DW Sports (@dw_sports) June 23, 2018
Tunisia goalkeeper Farouk Ben Mustapha made very little contact with the Belgian striker, but the 'keeper was rash in the challenge and failed to get the ball.
Seconds after he went down in the area, though, Lukaku raised his hand and went straight over to the referee.
Does there need to be more sportsmanship in football?
Sound off in the comments.
Chosen for YouChosen for You
Most Read StoriesMost Read