To make sure you never miss out on your favourite NEW stories, we're happy to send you some reminders

Click 'OK' then 'Allow' to enable notifications

Not now

Seven countries that have been banned from playing in the FIFA World Cup

Marcus Chan

| Last updated 

Seven countries that have been banned from playing in the FIFA World Cup

In the light of the news that Ecuador could be kicked out of the upcoming World Cup, we look back at seven other countries that have been banned from the tournament. 

After Ecuador secured their place in the 2022 World Cup, the Chilean Football Association made an official complaint to FIFA in April, claiming that Byron Castillo used a fake birth certificate and was an illegal immigrant. 

The Chilean FA stated that Castillo was born in Colombia in 1995, instead of Ecuador in 1998 shown on his documents. 

Now, according to the Daily Mail, a report has been published proving Castillo was in fact Colombian. 

As a result of this, Ecuador could be booted out of the World Cup, which is set to get underway in November. An official decision is expected on Thursday. 

With Ecuador facing an early exit, we look back at seven other countries that have been banned from football’s most prestigious tournament. 

Germany and Japan - 1950 World Cup 

After the 1942 and 1946 editions of the World Cup were cancelled due to World War II, the tournament returned in 1950. 

But Germany and Japan were not allowed to be involved due to the result of the second World War. 

Uruguay were the winners, with Brazil second, Sweden third and Spain fourth. 

Image Credit: Alamy
Image Credit: Alamy

South Africa - 1970 - 1990 World Cups 

During the apartheid in South Africa, they were faced with multiple international boycotts. FIFA had suspended them in 1963, and eventually expelled in 1976. 

South Africa are the last African country to host the tournament, having hosted the 2010 edition. 

Mexico - 1990 World Cup 

Mexico were banned for two years by FIFA after they fielded four players that were above the age limit. 

The incident happened during the qualifying round of the world junior tournament. 

The 1990 World Cup was won by West Germany, having they beat Argentina in the final. Italy and England were third and fourth respectively. 

Chile - 1994 World Cup 

Chilean keeper Roberto Rojas pretended to be hurt by a flare thrown by a fan during his country’s clash against Brazil in 1989. 

In truth, he used a hidden blade in his glove to cut himself, as a result, FIFA banned Chile from the 1994 tournament. Rojas was banned for life. 

Image Credit: Alamy
Image Credit: Alamy

Myanmar - 2006 World Cup 

Myanmar pulled out of a qualifying match for the 2002 World Cup which was scheduled to be played in Iran.

They were fined 23,500 dollars by FIFA and were banned from the 2006 edition of the tournament, which was held in Germany. 

Russia - 2022 World Cup 

After their invasion of Ukraine, they were condemned by many countries around the globe. 

FIFA decided the Russia football team were to be banned from participating in the Qatar World Cup.

The first match of the 2022 World Cup will kick off on 20 November. 

Featured Image Credit: Alamy

Topics: Football World Cup, FIFA, Ecuador, Qatar

Marcus Chan
More like this

Chosen for YouChosen for You


'That one hurt' - fans devastated with Laura Woods after her 'knife-twisting' Football Manager comments

35 minutes ago

Most Read StoriesMost Read

The possible sanctions Man City could face include EXPULSION from the league and stripping of titles

a day ago