To make sure you never miss out on your favourite NEW stories, we're happy to send you some reminders

Click 'OK' then 'Allow' to enable notifications

Not now

Lionel Messi becomes 9th player in history to win World Cup, Champions League & Ballon d’Or

Josh Lawless

| Last updated 

Lionel Messi becomes 9th player in history to win World Cup, Champions League & Ballon d’Or

Lionel Messi has become the ninth player to win the World Cup, Champions League and Ballon d'Or after finally winning the showpiece in his last game for Argentina.

Messi opened the scoring against France with a calm penalty awarded in controversial fashion after Angel di Maria went down under the challenge of Ousmane Dembele inside the area.

It was his seventh goal of the 2022 tournament and his 12th in 26 games across five World Cups. Messi then produced a deft flick in the build-up for Argentina's second - scored by Di Maria after a sweeping counter-attack dismantled France.


Just when it looked it was a foregone conclusion, Messi's PSG colleague Kylian Mbappe scored twice in quick succession out of nowhere to level matters late in the game and take the contest to extra time.

Messi put Argentina back in the lead with what looked like the winner but then Mbappe netted another spot-kick to complete a World Cup final hat-trick and force penalties.

La Albiceleste emerged victorious 4-2 on spot-kicks, with Sevilla's Gonzalo Montiel the hero after Emiliano Martinez did his thing again.

Irrespective of the result Messi had already set a new record after breaking Lothar Matthaus’ all-time World Cup appearance record.

But the long-awaited triumph, in his final game for his country, also sees him join an exclusive nine-man list of triple crown champions.

Image: Alamy
Image: Alamy

Bobby Charlton was the first do it back in 1968, winning the European Cup with Manchester United two years after England won the World Cup on home turf.

The last player (prior to Messi), was Brazilian sensation Kaka, who became a Ballon d'Or winner in 2007 after a stellar year with AC Milan.

Messi, of course, has claimed the coveted individual prize on SEVEN occasions. Until last year he had failed to win any silverware with Argentina and many still felt he was in the shadow of idol Diego Maradona.

However, he now has the Copa America, CONMEBOL–UEFA Cup of Champions and World Cup in his packed trophy cabinet.

Here is the full list of players to have completed football.

Bobby Charlton: World Cup (1966 with England), Ballon d’Or (1966), European Cup (1968 with Manchester United)

Franz Beckenbauer: World Cup (1974 with Germany), Ballon d’Or (1972, 1976), European Cup (1974, 1975, 1976 with Bayern Munich)

Gerd Muller: World Cup (1974 with Germany), Ballon d’Or (1970), European Cup: 1974, 1975, 1976 with Bayern Munich)

Paolo Rossi: World Cup (1982 with Italy), Ballon d’Or (1982), European Cup (1985 with Juventus)

Zinedine Zidane: World Cup (1998 with France), Ballon d’Or (1998), Champions League (2002 with Real Madrid)

Rivaldo: World Cup (2002 with Brazil), Ballon d’Or (1999), Champions League (2003 with AC Milan)

Ronaldinho: World Cup (2002 with Brazil)), Ballon d’Or (2005), Champions League (2006 with Barcelona)

Kaka: World Cup (2002 with Brazil ), Ballon d’Or (2007), Champions League (2007 with AC Milan)

Lionel Messi? World Cup (2022 with Argentina), Ballon d’Or (2009, 2010, 2011, 2012, 2015, 2019, 2021), Champions League (2006, 2009, 2011, 2015 with Barcelona)

Featured Image Credit: Alamy

Topics: Argentina, Champions League, Football World Cup, Lionel Messi, France

Josh Lawless
More like this

Chosen for YouChosen for You


Mason Greenwood adds Manchester United and Nike to Instagram bio after charges dropped

2 hours ago

Most Read StoriesMost Read

Gabby Agbonlahor believes Casemiro should be arrested after red card against Crystal Palace

a day ago