To make sure you never miss out on your favourite NEW stories, we're happy to send you some reminders

Click 'OK' then 'Allow' to enable notifications

Not now

List of players who would've won the Ballon d'Or if Lionel Messi and Cristiano Ronaldo didn't exist

Joe Adams

| Last updated 

List of players who would've won the Ballon d'Or if Lionel Messi and Cristiano Ronaldo didn't exist

France Football have uploaded a graphic revealing who would've won the Ballon d'Or if Lionel Messi and Cristiano Ronaldo didn't exist.

Messi and Ronaldo have won a staggering 12 Ballon d'Or titles between them, with the Argentine boasting an impressive SEVEN awards, having won it in 2009, 2010, 2011, 2012, 2015, 2019, 2021.

The Portuguese superstar, on the other hand, has five Ballon d'Or awards to his name, winning the prestigious prize in 2008, 2013, 2014, 2016, 2017.

They've held a stranglehold on the famous award since 2008, with Luka Modric the only player to break up their dominance.



But who would've won the Ballon d'or if Messi and Ronaldo weren't around? Well, France Football have put together a list of the winners if the pair of football superstars didn't exist.

In 2008, Liverpool's Fernandes Torres would've been handed the award. Barcelona's Xavi and Andres Iniesta would've alternated for four years, winning two each from 2009 to 2012.

Bayern Munich pair Franck Ribery and Manuel Neuer would've won the Ballon d'Or in 2013 and 2014 respectively.


Neymar would've collected the individual prize in 2015 and 2017, while Antoine Griezmann would've got his hands on it in 2016.

Virgil van Dijk would've been the first defender since 2006 to win the Ballon d'Or in 2019.

And, finally, Robert Lewandowski, who is widely considered to have been robbed of the Ballon d'Or in 2020 due to the Covid-19 pandemic, would've won the prize in 2021.

Check out the full list below:


2008 - Fernando Torres

2009 - Xavi

2010 - Andres Iniesta

2011 - Xavi


2012 - Andres Iniesta

2013 - Franck Ribery

2014 - Manuel Neuer

2015 - Neymar


2016 - Antoine Griezmann

2017 - Neymar

2019 - Virgil van Dijk

2021 - Robert Lewandowski

What's your take? Let us know.

SPORTbible are on WhatsApp! We've launched a dedicated news channel to send you the latest news, features and plenty more directly on WhatsApp and all you need to do to sign up is click through to our one-way broadcast channel here for 'SPORTbible News' to appear in the 'Updates' tab on your WhatsApp.

Featured Image Credit: Getty

Topics: Lionel Messi, Cristiano Ronaldo, Football, Ballon d'Or, Fernando Torres, Andres Iniesta, Xavi, Robert Lewandowski, Virgil Van Dijk, Neymar, Franck Ribery, Antoine Griezmann, Manuel Neuer

Joe Adams
More like this

Chosen for YouChosen for You


Jurgen Klopp could 'block' Xabi Alonso from joining Liverpool as reason revealed

33 minutes ago

Most Read StoriesMost Read

Kai Havertz made history in Arsenal’s win over Sheffield United that can never be done again

2 hours ago