To make sure you never miss out on your favourite NEW stories, we're happy to send you some reminders

Click 'OK' then 'Allow' to enable notifications

Thomas Tuchel make stunning claim over why Bayern Munich didn't get penalty for 'kid-like' decision

Thomas Tuchel make stunning claim over why Bayern Munich didn't get penalty for 'kid-like' decision

Thomas Tuchel and Bayern Munich felt they should have had a second penalty against Arsenal.

Bayern Munich manager Thomas Tuchel fumed over his not being awarded a second penalty against Arsenal.

The Bavarian giants found themselves 1-0 down in the Champions League quarter-final first leg after Bukayo Saka opened the scoring.

But former Arsenal star Serge Gnabry levelled matters before ex Spurs man Harry Kane rolled in a cool penalty to Bayern in the lead.

Leandro Trossard equalised in the 76th minute to set up a huge clash in Munich next week.

Saka and Arsenal were convinced they should have had a 95th minute penalty after the England winger collided with Manuel Neuer.

Yet the visitors were also aggrieved with a controversial penalty decision in the 66th minute.

The referee blew the whistle and David Raya appeared to take his goal-kick when he passed to Gabriel Magalhaes, who picked up the ball before placing it back on the six-yard box.

Bayern players appealed yet the man in the middle, Glenn Nyberg, was unmoved and waved away any protests.

There also did not appear to be a VAR check and a furious Tuchel claims the referee admitted his error - but refrained from awarding because of the occasion.

"I think the referee did not have the courage today to give a deserved penalty in a bit of a crazy and awkward situation,” Tuchel told TNT Sports.

“But he admitted on the pitch that he saw the situation and that a quarter-final is not enough for him to give a penalty for his mistake.

"He admitted he knew about the mistake the player made and that is a bit frustrating. It was from the goalkeeper, he was whistling and the keeper passed to the central defender…I am not sure which one it was but he touched the ball with his hand because he thought it is not in the game, but it was in the game.

"The referee admitted it was in game and it was a handball. It was not worth looking at the mistake which is very frustrating for our players and leaves us angry.”

Image: Getty
Image: Getty

Tuchel also went on to state that the ref branded Gabriel's gaffe a "kid"s error, while Rio Ferdinand was left in disbelief over the call.

Speaking on TNT Sports, he said: “It’s a pen. Oh my gosh how can that not be given? I was so adamant that Saka’s one was, I am even more for this. It’s unbelievable. How can he blow the whistle like that and not give that?"

Featured Image Credit: Getty & TNT Sports

Topics: Bayern Munich, Arsenal, Thomas Tuchel