To make sure you never miss out on your favourite NEW stories, we're happy to send you some reminders

Click 'OK' then 'Allow' to enable notifications

Not now

Manchester United treble winners crowned best Premier League side ever

Mudeet Arora

| Last updated 

Manchester United treble winners crowned best Premier League side ever

Manchester United’s 1999 treble winning team have been voted as the greatest team in Premier League history.

The Red Devils ruled English football since the advent of the Premier League in 1992 with Sir Alex Ferguson driving United to newer heights, season after season.

Manchester United won 13 league titles in the 21 years following 1992, which is an incredible achievement in one of the toughest football leagues in the world.

During this time, many great United sides featured under Sir Alex, but the 1999 side etched its name among immortals when they won the famous treble of the Premier League, FA Cup and the UEFA Champions League that year.


In what is the 30th year of the Premier League, Betfair have conducted a survey with YouGov and asked over 1,000 football fans to decide who have been the greatest and unluckiest English top-flight teams since 1992.

And the legendary treble-winning side of '99 has come out on top, winning with 19% of the votes.

United’s 1999 side consisted of legends like Peter Schmeichel, Roy Keane, Paul Scholes, Ryan Giggs and David Beckham to name a few.

Credit: Alamy
Credit: Alamy

The most incredible aspect about their treble achievement is, till date, no club has been able to replicate that feat.

In the vote, United’s treble winning team beat Arsenal’s Invincibles, who came in second. Arsene Wenger’s side went the whole of 2003/04 season unbeaten in the Premier League and they shared the second spot with Liverpool’s 2019/20 Premier League winning side as both teams got 15% of the votes.

Here’s the full list of the Premier League’s greatest ever teams as voted for via Betfair:

1. Manchester United 1998/99

2. Arsenal 2003/04

3. Liverpool 2019/20

4. Manchester City 2017/18

5. Manchester United 2008/09

6. Leicester City 2016/17

7. Manchester City 2018/19

8. Chelsea 2004/05

9. Blackburn Rovers 1994/95

10. Chelsea 2016/17

United completed a 33-game unbeaten run in the 1998-99 season on the way to a treble, in which they also beat Nottingham Forest 8-1.

Arsenal’s invincibles had to be second considering their unbeaten run. Liverpool too deserved their spot after Jurgen Klopp led them to win their first league title after 30 years.

Pep Guardiola’s Manchester City team that managed to reach 100 points in the 2017-18 season came fourth.

The Red Devils appear again in fifth spot for winning a Premier League title for the third successive season in the 2008/09 season.

Leicester City’s shock Premier League title win in 2015-16 surely had to make this list.

Man City’s 2018/19 side, Chelsea’s 2004/05 team, Blackburn’s 1994/95 heroics and Chelsea’s 2016/17 side captured the last four spots among the votes.

Featured Image Credit: Alamy

Topics: Manchester United, Sir Alex Ferguson, Premier League, Champions League, FA Cup, Football

Mudeet Arora
More like this

Chosen for YouChosen for You


Luis Suarez in tears on the bench as South Korea beat Portugal to pip Uruguay to last 16

2 minutes ago

Most Read StoriesMost Read

4K image proves controversial Japan goal vs Spain was right to stand

9 hours ago