Morocco Player Claims Referee Asked Pepe For Cristiano Ronaldo's Shirt
Cristiano Ronaldo continued his brilliant World Cup on Wednesday afternoon with a match winning goal for Portugal against Morocco and so impressed was the referee that the official asked for his shirt.
Before last Friday Cristiano Ronaldo's World Cup record looked a bit weird. He'd scored in all three of his previous tournaments but had 'only' scored three goals across them, one each in group games. It was oddly lacking.
Then on Friday he doubled his record at the tournament and became only the fourth man to score in four different tournaments as he scored a match saving hat-trick to give Portugal a 3-3 draw with rivals Spain.
It obviously kicked off the debate once again about whether or not Ronaldo is the best in the world right now and possibly the best ever.
Not one to rest on his laurels the Real Madrid forward then bagged the only goal in Portugal's 1-0 win over Morocco on Wednesday afternoon.
Fans everywhere were impressed by hin continuing goalscoring exploits but it's not just fans. Morocco player Nordin Amrabat, speaking to Dutch TV, explained that the referee reportedly asked Pepe for Ronaldo's shirt, saying:
"I do not know what he is used to, but he was very impressed by Cristiano Ronaldo, and I hear from Pepe that he asked in the first half if he should have his shirt, what are we talking about? at the World Cup, it's not a circus here."
More Like ThisMore Like This
Cristiano Ronaldo's Superb Individual Highlights Vs Sweden Prove He Is Unstoppable Right Now
The match was refereed by US official Mark Geiger and quite frankly if it is true that the American asked for the five time Ballon d'Or winner's shirt then he probably shouldn't referee another game.
Fellow Morocco player Karim El Ahmadi felt Ronaldo's goal shouldn't have been allowed adding, "I just thought it was a violation, but that is up to the referee and he will let it go," citing a potential push in the lead up.
It's of course one thing saying a referee had a bad game but the "and he will let it go" suggests the African felt the official made the 'mistake' on purpose and that is dodgy ground to go over.
Of course none of it will bother Ronaldo in the slightest and with Iran up next don't bet on him not bagging once again.