To make sure you never miss out on your favourite NEW stories, we're happy to send you some reminders

Click 'OK' then 'Allow' to enable notifications

Not now

Wrexham release 11 players after securing promotion to the Football League

Josh Lawless

| Last updated 

Wrexham release 11 players after securing promotion to the Football League

Wrexham have released a total of 11 players after securing promotion to the Football League.

The Red Dragons, backed by Hollywood pair Ryan Reynolds and Rob McElhenney will play in League Two for the first time since 2008 after winning the National League in stunning fashion.

Wrexham are already preparing for next season and have identified a number of top targets in the summer transfer window.

However, they will have to comply with strict wage regulations as clubs are only able to spend 55 per cent of their turnover on salaries.


But the club have announced their released and retained list for 2023, with a number of players now looking for their next challenge.


Top scorer Paul Mullin, scorer of 38 goals in the title-winning triumph, has had his deal extended - along with Mark Howard and Anthony Forde.

Youngsters Scott Butler and Aaron James will have their contracts extended, while Owen Cushion has a first professional deal on the table.


Liam McAlinden will receive a fresh offer, while there is an update on the situation of Ben Foster. The 40-year-old had said he would have to go away and have a think after coming out of retirement in March and helping Wrexham secure promotion.

The club say a discussion with Foster will take place to determine whether he wishes to continue playing, though Reynolds already reckons he has a verbal agreement after their on-pitch conversation.

Harry Lennon is retiring from football at the age of 28 after injury struggles limited him to just two appearances in Wrexham's promotion campaign.

Wrexham will wait on Kai Evans' fitness before deciding if he will be offered a new deal but a plethora of players must now look for a new club.


In a statement on their official website, the National League champions thanked all 11 players for their contributions.

Here he is the list of released players in full:

  • Ryan Austin
  • Kai Calderbank-Park
  • Malik Dijksteel
  • Reece Hall-Johnson
  • Jake Hyde
  • Harry Lennon
  • Rory Watson
  • Tom Jenkins
  • Dan Jones
  • Louis Lloyd
  • Will Mountfield

Featured Image Credit: Alamy

Topics: Ryan Reynolds, Wrexham, Ben Foster

Josh Lawless
More like this

Chosen for YouChosen for You


Footage shows Martin Odegaard being the perfect captain on three separate occasions after Carabao Cup win

a minute ago

Most Read StoriesMost Read

Newcastle fans accuse former Sunderland player Don Goodman of 'fixing' Carabao Cup draw

3 hours ago