To make sure you never miss out on your favourite NEW stories, we're happy to send you some reminders

Click 'OK' then 'Allow' to enable notifications

Not now

Mo Salah Named PFA Players' Player Of The Year For Second Time

Josh Lawless

| Last updated 

Mo Salah Named PFA Players' Player Of The Year For Second Time

Featured Image Credit: Image: Liverpool FC & PA

Liverpool star Mo Salah has claimed the PFA Players' Player of the Year for a second time after another stunning season.

Salah hit 23 goals in the Premier League, sharing the Golden Boot award with Heung-Min Son.


The Egyptian forward also led the assist charts with 13 and after receiving the PFA award voted by the fans, he has now got his hands on an another individual trophy.

Having played in an integral role in Liverpool's two domestic trophy triumphs, and a campaign that saw the Reds amass 92 points and reach the Champions League final, Salah's achievements have been recognised by PFA members.

Now one of only nine players in PFA Award History to have won two PFA Players’ Player trophies, Salah saw off strong competition from Kevin De Bruyne, Cristiano Ronaldo, Harry Kane and club colleagues Virgil van Dijk and Sadio Mane.

Image: PA
Image: PA

“It’s a great honour to win a trophy, individual or collective and this one is big so, very happy and very proud of that," Salah said after collecting the prize.

"This one is a really good one to win, especially because it’s voted by players. It shows you that you’ve worked really hard and you get what you worked for. I have my room with trophies in a cabinet and I made sure that I had another space for one more. I always keep space and just try to imagine that the trophies are going to come.

“When you get older, you feel like you’re more stable and you know exactly what you want from football so I’m just trying to really chill and help the team. That’s why I think I also won the playmaker because it’s like you’re more aware of the game, so you just try to make the people next to you better and try to make yourself better as well.”

Salah also features in the PFA Premier League Team of the Year, where he is joined by five Liverpool teammates.

Phil Foden retained the PFA PFA Young Player of the Year and became the sixth player to win the trophy back-to-back.

The England international scored nine goals in the Premier League as Manchester City retained the title.

Image: PA
Image: PA

Foden commented: "“I'm really honoured to be honest, especially to win it back-to-back, it shows that I've come a long way this year with the consistency of my game, and I’m really pleased to win it again.

"All the best players in the world have got to show consistency and keep performing at the higher level, and this year I've just tried to do that and try and help my team as much as possible - I’ve been really happy with my performances this year. Hopefully I can win the main award in the future, but it’s all about taking small steps and improving. I always love winning individual awards, it’s just nice to look at and see how far you've come so, yeah, I’m really pleased.”

Topics: Liverpool, Mohamed Salah, Premier League, PFA, Kevin De Bruyne, Virgil Van Dijk, Sadio Mane

Josh Lawless
More like this

Chosen for YouChosen for You


Kylian Mbappe has just taken the worst two shots of his career vs Denmark

8 hours ago

Most Read StoriesMost Read

Mark Lawrenson says he was sacked by the BBC because he's a 'white male'

17 hours ago