VAR controversy as Man United awarded penalty in FA Cup final following Jack Grealish handball
| Last updated
Manchester United were awarded a controversial penalty against Manchester City in the FA Cup final following a VAR review.
Jack Grealish was adjudged to have handled the ball inside the box as the game played on until match referee Paul Tierney reviewed the incident on the pitch side monitor.
After a VAR review, he pointed to the spot, with Bruno Fernandes making no mistake from the spot as he sent Stefan Ortega the wrong way to make it 1-1.
Needless to say, VAR's decision to award the penalty as a result of Grealish's handball sent social media wild.
One Twitter user wrote: "Ifab have to address the handball law urgently!"
A Man United fan argued: "Yes as it’s a handball whether it’s by accident or not. Same goes both ways! City fans would be saying yes if one of our players touched it too."
A third tweeted: "Games gone look how close Grealish is what can he do?"
A fourth added: "Time the rules went back to if you're hand touches it it's handball so everyone knows where they stand."
Another said: "Poor decision by the officials never a penalty."
Did VAR make the right call? Let us know what you think.