To make sure you never miss out on your favourite NEW stories, we're happy to send you some reminders

Click 'OK' then 'Allow' to enable notifications

Not now

Jamie Carragher and Gary Neville name their respective FIFA 23 Team of the Years, both pundits disagree on FOUR players

Adnan Riaz

| Last updated 

Jamie Carragher and Gary Neville name their respective FIFA 23 Team of the Years, both pundits disagree on FOUR players

Gary Neville and Jamie Carragher have revealed their respective FIFA 23 Team of the Years, with the Sky Sports pundits only disagreeing on four players.

FIFA 23 publisher EA Sports has opened up the selection process for this iteration of Team of the Year, with fans able to cast their votes from the 100 nominees.

FIFA players can build their own Team of the Year via EA’s official website, with EA Sports to reveal who made the final cut later in January.

For their Team of the Years, Neville opted for a daring attacking-minded formation of 4-2-4 while Carragher chose a more robust formation of 4-2-3-1.



Neville and Carragher agreed Liverpool No 1 Alisson should take his place between the sticks ahead of the likes of Thibaut Courtois, Ederson and Emiliano Martinez

Carragher and Neville both included Paris Saint-Germain star Achraf Hakimi, who had a sensational 2022 World Cup with Morocco, for the right-back spot.

Both Sky Sports pundits placed PSG star Marquinhos in their respective backlines, but Carragher and Neville disagreed on the other centre-back and left-back.


Neville paired Brazil international Marquinhos alongside Manchester City defender Ruben Dias, with Carragher preferring Real Madrid centre-back Eder Militao.

For the left-back, Carragher revealed his pick was City star Joao Cancelo while Neville named AC Milan full-back Theo Hernandez as his first choice for the team.

Moving into midfield as Real Madrid star Luka Modric received the nod from both Neville and Carragher, but the pair disagreed on who to partner alongside him.


Carragher went for Modric’s former Madrid teammate Casemiro, who has made a sensational impact at Manchester United since his £70m transfer.

Neville, on the other hand, snubbed United star Casemiro and paired 2018 Ballon d’Or winner Modric alongside City playmaker Kevin De Bruyne.

Barcelona legend Lionel Messi, who lifted the World Cup with Argentina in Qatar, is in Neville and Carragher’s frontline alongside PSG teammate Kylian Mbappe.



City striker Erling Haaland, who has made a stunning impact in his debut season in England, is featured in the attacking line with Messi and Mbappe.

For the final choice, Neville preferred Barcelona striker Robert Lewandowski while Carragher chose Madrid striker Karim Benzema, who won the 2022 Ballon d’Or.

Featured Image Credit: Sky Sports/YouTube

Topics: Gary Neville, Jamie Carragher, Football, FIFA 23

Adnan Riaz
More like this

Chosen for YouChosen for You


David Beckham could buy stake in Premier League club that isn't Man Utd as perfect opportunity arises

15 minutes ago

Most Read StoriesMost Read

Paul Scholes sends Antony cheeky message after winger calls out Man Utd legends for 'malicious' criticism

an hour ago