Harry Maguire’s reaction when referee John Brooks checked the pitchside monitor goes viral
| Last updated
Fan footage has emerged of Harry Maguire’s reaction as referee John Brooks conducted an on-screen review during Saturday's clash between Fulham and Manchester United.
Erik ten Hag was convinced his side had taken an early lead at Craven Cottage, when the in-form Scott McTominay poked home Alejandro Garnacho's pass across the face of goal.
But moments later, referee John Brooks was told to check the pitchside monitor by officials at Stockley Park.
After a frustrating four-minute review, the goal was eventually ruled out after Harry Maguire was deemed to be offside in the build-up.
It was a controversial call, to say the least. Even though he didn't touch the ball, Maguire was judged to have affected play by impeding the Fulham defender – a call that divided opinion amongst supporters.
VAR deemed it to be a 'subjective' offside, meaning Brooks was called over to the monitor. Here, a clearly agitated Maguire made an attempt to sway the decision.
“I wasn’t even involved ref," the England international says. "Hey! I wasn’t even involved. F****ing hell... I wasn’t even involved."
Ten seconds later, Brooks decided to chalk off McTominay's effort and the score remained at 0-0.
I love Maguire’s reaction for the disallowed goal.😂— 𝗧𝗲𝗻 𝗛𝗮𝗴’𝘀 𝗥𝗲𝗱𝘀 ✍🏼🇳🇱 (@TenHagBall_) November 5, 2023
“I wasn’t even involved ref! Hey! I wasn’t even involved! F****ing hell!I wasn’t even involved!” pic.twitter.com/OqekXi1beG
Here's how social media reacted to the viral footage.
One said: "Really stepped up since his tough period, proper attitude and earning the right to wear that shirt. That’s how you take criticism and not forgetting stripping of captaincy and working hard. Best player on the pitch yesterday."
A second wrote: "Should never have taken captaincy off him," while a third commented: "Maguire growing on me as a bloke and a player in the last few weeks. Captain material."
A fourth added: "Our captain out there is laughing out loud on a ruled offside goal."
So what are the exact rules around an incident like this? According to IFAB’s laws of the game, a player can be penalised if they are in an offside position and become active in the phase of play.
They do so by:
- preventing an opponent from playing or being able to play the ball by clearly obstructing the opponent’s line of vision
- or challenging an opponent for the ball or clearly attempting to play a ball which is close when this action impacts on an opponent
- or making an obvious action which clearly impacts on the ability of an opponent to play the ball
Was Harry Maguire interfering with play here? 🤔— Match of the Day (@BBCMOTD) November 4, 2023
VAR ruled out the resulting goal from Scott McTominay after Maguire was judged to be offside in the build up. #BBCFootball #FULMUN #PL pic.twitter.com/HVCcV12D06
Manchester United went on to secure all three points thanks to a 91st minute winner from Bruno Fernandes. They currently sit eighth in the Premier League with 18 points from a possible 33.
SPORTbible are on WhatsApp! We've launched a dedicated news channel to send you the latest news, features and plenty more directly on WhatsApp and all you need to do to sign up is click through to our one-way broadcast channel here for 'SPORTbible News' to appear in the 'Updates' tab on your WhatsApp.