To make sure you never miss out on your favourite NEW stories, we're happy to send you some reminders

Click 'OK' then 'Allow' to enable notifications

Joe Hart was forced to explain one of football's strangest rules after disallowed goal

Joe Hart was forced to explain one of football's strangest rules after disallowed goal

Joe Hart had to explain one of the most bizarre rules in football and addressed the incident in a post-match interview.

Former England and Manchester City goalkeeper Joe Hart announced his impending retirement from football this week.

The 36-year-old's career has been on a downwards spiral ever since Pep Guardiola decided his time at City was over but he remains a two-time Premier League winner, four-time Premier League Golden Gloves winner and someone who played 75 times for his country.

And in addition to that, he's well aware of one of the most rare and unusual laws in football.

Back in 2014, the shotstopper had to explain the strange rule following a disallowed goal scored by Charlie Austin in a 2-2 draw between QPR and City at Loftus Road.

Austin pounced on a mistake from the City goalkeeper, who had played the ball straight at his feet before seeing the striker smash a low finish past him.

The Rs No.9 thought he had opened the scoring and proceeded to celebrate with a chicken dance.

But Hart immediately protested to referee Mike Dean and his appeals were successful as the goal was disallowed.

Hart had inadvertently kicked the ball with his right foot onto his left and the double touch - coupled with the fact the ball did not leave the area - meant Austin's goal could not stand.

The free-kick was given after Austin had another goal disallowed for offside.

Law 13 in the rule book, specifically focusing on free-kicks, states that, "If, when a free-kick is taken by the defending team from inside its own penalty area, the ball is not kicked directly out of the penalty area, the kick is retaken".

Hart was well-clued up on the ruling and was seen conversing with both Rob Green and Austin regarding the confusing call.

“I knew the rules and touched it twice," the former England goalkeeper explained to Sky Sports.

"I’d touched it twice with my feet obviously. It’s a mistake and not ideal but rules are rules.

“I was looking at Mangala to pass to him because I was aware of Charlie and it hit my right foot and left foot and went straight to him.”

Austin also had another disallowed goal and was on the scoresheet legally in an eventful first half at Loftus Road.

Asked if he was aware of the two touches from Hart, Austin responded: "Didn't you see from my celebration? I turned around and no one was with me. When I looked back, everyone was around the ref."

Featured Image Credit: Sky Sports

Topics: Joe Hart, Manchester City, QPR