To make sure you never miss out on your favourite NEW stories, we're happy to send you some reminders

Click 'OK' then 'Allow' to enable notifications

England's final Euro 2024 squad confirmed as seven unlucky players axed by Gareth Southgate

England's final Euro 2024 squad confirmed as seven unlucky players axed by Gareth Southgate

England were set a deadline of Friday to submit their final 26-man squad.

England's final 26-man squad for Euro 2024 has been decided - with the seven players to miss out named.

Gareth Southgate has had to make tricky decisions in cutting his provisional 33-man squad to meet UEFA's deadline on Friday.

Earlier on Thursday, it was reported that Tottenham's James Maddison and Liverpool's Curtis Jones had both left the England camp after being informed that they would not be selected.

Jack Grealish was later told that he would not be selected, while Harry Maguire's calf injury has ruled him out of contention.

The full squad has now been officially announced by England, with Burnley goalkeeper James Trafford, Everton defender Jarrad Branthwaite and Liverpool's Jarell Quansah the final three players that are set to miss out.


That means that Crystal Palace star Adam Wharton will be one of a host of England players that will travel to his first international tournament, after making his debut in the 3-0 friendly win over Bosnia and Herzegovina.

His Crystal Palace team-mates Eberechi Eze, Marc Guehi and Dean Henderson will also be involved - meaning the Eagles have the most representation of any club in the final squad.

Crystal Palace quartet Eberechi Eze, Marc Guehi, Dean Henderson and Adam Wharton are all set to be named in England's final Euro 2024 squad (

The decision to leave out Branthwaite, meanwhile, may come as a surprise to many, given his impressive form for Everton this season.

But the Toffees' Players' Player of the Year award winner didn't play in either friendly against Brazil or Belgium in March. He made a 29-minute substitute appearance against Bosnia and Herzegovina earlier this week to win his first cap - but Brighton defender Lewis Dunk, who is in the final squad, was chosen to start the game over him.

Elsewhere, Southgate is set to take three strikers to Germany, with Ivan Toney and Ollie Watkins selected alongside captain and record goalscorer Harry Kane.

Southgate will hold a press conference at St George's Park to react to his squad announcement at around 6pm on Thursday, with midfielder Declan Rice also present.

Featured Image Credit: Getty

Topics: England, Euro 2024, UEFA, Harry Maguire, Jack Grealish, James Maddison, Gareth Southgate