To make sure you never miss out on your favourite NEW stories, we're happy to send you some reminders

Click 'OK' then 'Allow' to enable notifications

Not now

What is England's biggest World Cup win?

Chris Byfield

| Last updated 

What is England's biggest World Cup win?

England demolished Iran 6-2 in the Three Lions’ crucial opening game World Cup win in Qatar. But was it England’s biggest-ever World Cup win?

The Three Lions' youngsters Jude Bellingham and Bukayo Saka netted in the first half-hour, while Raheem Sterling scored his first-ever World Cup goal to see the Three Lions head into half-time with a comfortable 3-0 lead against Iran.

The second half saw Saka score a second, while Marcus Rashford and Jack Grealish added a fifth and sixth. For Iran, Mehdi Taremi scored a second-half brace, including an injury-time penalty after a controversial VAR decision.

It was a brilliant Three Lions display that stands Gareth Southgate’s side in good stead for the rest of the tournament. But what is England’s biggest-ever World Cup win?


England vs Panama

England’s victory is their second biggest-ever World Cup win.

Four years ago England defeated Panama 6-1 in the group stages, scoring a whopping five goals in the first half alone.



Harry Kane scored twice while centre-back John Stones also netted a brace. Meanwhile, Jesse Lingard, who now plays his football at Nottingham Forest, scored the pick of the goals with a curled effort from distance.

The 6-1 victory surpassed England’s previous biggest World Cup win against Denmark in 2002.

That day Rio Ferdinand, Michael Owen and Emile Heskey were the goalscorers as the Three Lions won 3-0.

Biggest World Cup win ever


The biggest-ever winning margin in a World Cup is nine goals, which has been achieved three times in the competition’s history.

In 1954 Hungary beat South Korea 9-0, while Yugoslavia demolished Zaire 9-0 in 1974. Eight years later Hungary (again) won 10-1 against El Salvador.

The biggest World Cup win this millennium is Germany’s 8-0 win over Saudi Arabia in 2002. Die Mannschaft also famously demolished Brazil 7-1 demolition in the semi-final of the 2014 World Cup.

Featured Image Credit: Alamy

Topics: Football, England, Jude Bellingham, Bukayo Saka, Gareth Southgate, Football World Cup, Qatar

Chris Byfield
More like this

Chosen for YouChosen for You


BREAKING: VAR officials Darren England and Dan Cook DROPPED after Tottenham vs Liverpool

15 minutes ago

Most Read StoriesMost Read

The PGMOL release statement on Luis Diaz disallowed goal against Spurs

14 hours ago