FIFA are considering new 'Emiliano Martinez rule', it will be discussed at IFAB meeting this week
| Last updated
FIFA are considering introducing an 'anti-Emiliano Martinez rule change' that will prevent a goalkeeper from distracting or talking to someone taking a penalty, according to reports.
The International FA Board have an upcoming AGM in London on Saturday, where they are expected to review current regulations within the game.
And in the aftermath of last year's World Cup final between France and Argentina, it appears one of the potential rule changes relates to Martinez's controversial antics in the penalty shootout.
The 30-year-old used mind games to try and drain the opposition of confidence. In fact, he forced referee Szymon Marciniak to politely intervene as he attempted to get into Kingsley Coman's head.
Martinez's antics continued as he tried to get in the face of Kolo Muani but if the new rule comes into play, then the Argentine will have to rethink his tactics when it comes to saving spot-kicks.
Spanish publication Marca suggest the IFAB are ready to make a stand against such behaviour when they meet on March 4.
They say the board could introduce a rule where goalkeepers are prohibited from "distracting the shooter", with examples including delaying the execution of the penalty or touching the posts, the crossbar or the goal net.
In the penalty shoot-out at the Lusail Stadium, Martinez was heard saying “I’ve watched you!” on several occasions; not to mention his movement between the sticks.
With the 4th French penalty taker, Kolo Muani, Martinez first seems to communicate & gesture with a staff member on the sideline about Kolo Muani. Then he says several times “I’ve watched you!”.— Geir Jordet (@GeirJordet) December 19, 2022
Now, the yellow card is inevitable, but too late, Martinez has basically won. 10/ pic.twitter.com/lcac5kwByk
Martinez was accused of "cheating" and "manipulating circumstances" in the World Cup final by talkSPORT host Simon Jordan.
“Martinez’s actions, I thought it was cheating, the holding of the ball and throwing it the other way,” Jordan said.
“The goalkeeper’s actions, I don’t think it was gamesmanship, I don’t think it’s part of the game, I think it’s cheating.
"For a referee to allow the goalkeeper to manipulate the circumstances, to heighten the pressure, to increase it, I think was one of the shortcomings in that moment in time.”
Martinez's former Arsenal teammate Jack Wilshere, meanwhile, praised his controversial behaviour.
"To watch Emi do what he’s done has been amazing," he told The Sun. "To have seen him as a 17-year-old kid at Arsenal, who went out on loan to the likes of Oxford, Rotherham and Sheffield Wednesday, to now be a World Cup winner.
"I’m so happy for him. He made one of the best and most important saves ever in a World Cup final – that stop with his boot from Randal Kolo Muani right at the end of extra-time to get them to penalties."
Thoughts on the potential rule change?
Let us know in the comments.
Featured Image Credit: Alamy
Topics: Argentina, France, Football World Cup, Emiliano Martinez, FIFA