To make sure you never miss out on your favourite NEW stories, we're happy to send you some reminders

Click 'OK' then 'Allow' to enable notifications

Not now

Liverpool or Man Utd could receive £50m windfall in FIFA Club World Cup revamp

Ryan Smart

| Last updated 

Liverpool or Man Utd could receive £50m windfall in FIFA Club World Cup revamp

Liverpool or Manchester United could be set for a major windfall as a result of a revamp to the Club World Cup format, a new report says.

The current competition is played between the winners of seven continental club competitions from the previous season, and the league-winning team from the host nation.

Real Madrid are the current champions, and the Club World Cup's most successful team, having lifted the trophy on five occasions.

In December, FIFA president Gianni Infantino announced that the Club World Cup would expand to a 32-team tournament in 2025.



It was due to be changed to a 24-team format in 2021, with the first edition to be played in China, but the revamp was scrapped as a result of the Covid-19 pandemic.

Now, the qualifying criteria for the tournament has been approved by FIFA's council - and English teams could be in for major paydays.

Liverpool, Man Utd could get big windfall


The criteria includes the 2021 winners of the Champions League, meaning Chelsea are guaranteed to be involved in the 2025 competition.

The Times report that the Blues should receive at least £25 million as a result of their participation, which could rise to as high as £50 million.

Other teams involved will include Real Madrid and the winners of the Champions League in this and next season.

Liverpool and Manchester United could also qualify for the competition. That is because the other eight European spots will be based around coefficient rankings, which are calculated based upon teams' performances in UEFA competitions over the previous five seasons.


Therefore, either side can qualify by placing the top eight positions of the coefficient rankings, or by winning the Champions League before the qualifying period closes.

Both teams are previous Club World Cup winners. Manchester United lifted the trophy in 2008, beating Ecuadorian side LDU Quito 1-0 in the final.

Liverpool, meanwhile, won the competition for the only time in 2019, beating Flamengo 1-0 after extra time in the final. They finished as runners-up in 2005, losing to fellow Brazilian giants Sao Paulo.

They will now hope to qualify for the revamped 32-team tournament, which is set to feature the top teams from the footballing world.


The current coefficient ranking is as follows, from the 2018/19 season (via the official UEFA website):

  • 1. Bayern Munich (132.000 points)
  • 2. Manchester City (132.000)
  • 3. Liverpool (123.000)
  • 4. Chelsea (123.000)
  • 5. Real Madrid (112.000)
  • 6. Paris Saint-Germain (112.000)
  • 7. Manchester United (98.000)
  • 8. Barcelona (98.000)

Featured Image Credit: Alamy

Topics: Manchester United, Liverpool, Chelsea, Manchester City, Premier League, FIFA Club World Cup

Ryan Smart
More like this

Chosen for YouChosen for You


Man Utd 'could include Scott McTominay in part-exchange deal' for West Ham star Declan Rice

an hour ago

Most Read StoriesMost Read

Jesse Lingard released by Nottingham Forest, he is available as a free agent this summer

18 hours ago