To make sure you never miss out on your favourite NEW stories, we're happy to send you some reminders

Click 'OK' then 'Allow' to enable notifications

Not now
OK
Advert
Advert
Advert

Goal in Turkish derby was allowed to stand after player used genius football IQ, fans are divided

Ryan Smart

Published 
| Last updated 

Goal in Turkish derby was allowed to stand after player used genius football IQ, fans are divided

A goal during a Women's Super Lig derby between Fenerbahce and Besiktas was allowed to stand after a player used a genius piece of football IQ - but fans are not sure what to make of it.

The 95th-minute goal was scored by Kosovan forward Donjeta Halilaj, who pulled a goal back for Besiktas in what proved to be an eventual 3-2 defeat.

The 23-year-old scored after heading the ball out of the hands of the Fenerbahce goalkeeper, before turning and curling her shot into the empty net.

You can watch the goal below.

Advert

Halilaj quickly put her arms up towards the referee, indicating that she had no issue with how the goal was scored.

Fenerbahce players were furious, though, and several of them surrounded the referee. Midfielder Cansu Gurel was booked for her protests.

The game continued shortly after, and although the hosts managed to hold on for their 3-2 victory, there was plenty of debate over the incident on social media.

Advert

IFAB laws state that that a goalkeeper is considered to be in control of the ball with the hands in the following circumstances:

  • The ball is between the hands or between the hand and any surface or by touching it with any part of the hands or arms, except if the ball rebounds from the goalkeeper or the goalkeeper has made a save
  • Holding the ball in the outstretched open hand
  • Bouncing it on the ground or throwing it into the air

The law also states that 'a goalkeeper cannot be challenged by an opponent when in control of the ball with the hand(s).

Credit: X/Twitter
Credit: X/Twitter
Advert

The debate on social media has been whether the Fenerbahce goalkeeper had full control of the ball, with one writing: "Even in one hand, the keeper is deemed to have control. Should be a free kick, not a goal."

Another agreed: "No goal. Rules state the keeper is in control of the ball, no longer has to be two hands."

And a third said: "It shouldn't be a goal. IFAB rules are very clear on when/how a goalkeeper is considered to be in control of the ball."

But one fan claimed: "Perfectly legal. The goalkeeper is not adjudged to be in complete control of the ball unless both hands are on it.

Advert

"In this instance, having it placed as she did means the ball is in play, and the attacker well within her rights to do what she did."

What are your thoughts on the goal being awarded? Let us know in the comments.

Featured Image Credit: X/Twitter

Topics: Fenerbahce, Besiktas, Turkish Super Lig, Football, Fan Reactions

Ryan Smart
More like this
Advert
Advert
Advert

Chosen for YouChosen for You

Football

Wayne Rooney responds to Gary Lineker 'joke' about his managerial career on live BBC broadcast

42 minutes ago

Most Read StoriesMost Read

Pep Guardiola fined Gerard Pique for kit choice at Barcelona that 'put his health at risk'

9 hours ago