Chelsea stunned by two 'embarrassing' refereeing decisions in Women's Champions League clash vs Real Madrid
| Last updated
Chelsea were on the end of two refereeing decisions branded 'embarrassing' and 'horrific' during their 2-2 draw with Real Madrid in the Women's Champions League.
The Blues travelled to Spain looking to pick up their first win of the group stage at their first attempt.
They went behind early on, with Spain's World Cup-winning goalscorer Olga Carmona putting Real ahead on 10 minutes.
Emma Hayes' side duly hit back through Niamh Charles and Sam Kerr, but Carmona levelled for the hosts late on from the penalty spot.
Although Real forward Athenea del Castillo goes down in the penalty area, footage clearly shows the initial point of contact from Blues midfielder Jessie Fleming being comfortably outside of the area.
Chelsea Women totally robbed of an important victory away in Madrid.— Tom Overend (@tovers98) November 15, 2023
The fact this is a penalty in Europe’s most elite competition is a disgrace.
In addition, a clearly onside Chelsea goal was flagged too. pic.twitter.com/T1xY5F6SH4
And earlier in the game, Chelsea thought they had scored another goal, only to see it ruled out for offside.
Left-back Charles scored following a free kick, but had her goal ruled out for the infringement.
Although there is a debate that the goalscorer herself had been ruled in an offside position - footage shows she was onside by a number of yards - there was also a suggestion that Kerr was deemed to have interfered with the goalkeeper.
But the Australian does not appear to obstruct the goalkeeper's line of sight at any point.
A horrific night of officiating in the Real Madrid vs Chelsea game tonight 🤯 pic.twitter.com/dzTH9B3zeg— Fanzine WSL (@FanzineWSL) November 15, 2023
Speaking in her post-match press conference, Hayes was equally furious that either player was deemed offside, stating that Kerr was 'nowhere near' the goalkeeper.
She said: "We scored a legitimate goal with Niamh Charles three or four yards onside. It's embarrassing.
"I had to check why the goal was disallowed, and I then watched it back. Sam's about eight yards away from the goalkeeper, she's nowhere near her. I cannot understand the decision whatsoever - I think we've been robbed.
"I could see from the bench it was outside the box, so I'm absolutely shocked that those managing the game couldn't see that."