Fans left baffled by Arsenal VAR offside decision for Gabriel Martinelli disallowed goal against Everton
| Last updated
Fans have been left baffled after Gabriel Martinelli's goal was disallowed for an offside in the build-up against Everton.
The Brazilian thought he had opened the scoring for Arsenal at Goodison Park but then the goal was chalked off.
Martinelli himself had held his run perfectly to get in behind Ashley Young and finish past Jordan Pickford but a VAR check ruled that Eddie Nketiah had come back from an offside position.
Gary Neville, on co-commentary duty for Sky Sports, was left confused and unsure if there were any better angles available to make the decision - saying, “it looks to me like a little bit of guesswork".
But even more strange was the fact that the ball played by Gabriel had actually deflected off Everton striker Beto, and so there was the feeling that it didn't matter of Nketiah was offside ever so slightly.
"Even I'm a little confused!" 🤔— Sky Sports Premier League (@SkySportsPL) September 17, 2023
Arsenal thought they had taken the lead but it's ruled out for offside! 👇❌ pic.twitter.com/t2oiFLAy8y
One fan said: "Hold on what’s the rule? Gabriel wasn’t even trying to put in an attacking pass. How is that offside?"
A second added: "Gabriel is playing a sidewards pass, it cannons off an Everton player towards the Arsenal man and they deem it OFFSIDE."
A third weighed in: "I don't understand the offside rule anymore. One day if the ball comes off the opposing player last it's not off, but when Arsenal play it is."
A fourth added: "Thought it came off Beto. Don’t understand how it was given an offside."
A fifth user stated: "I feel like Arsenal just had a goal ruled out for offside for a backwards pass in their own half."
A sixth summarised: "Arsenal deserve some offside shenanigans against them after the Garnacho call the other week, but this very much looks onside."
To make matters worse for Arsenal, Martinelli went down with an injury moments later and had to be replaced by Leandro Trossard.
PGMOL later stated that Beto's attempt to win the ball was not deemed a deliberate action and so the play did not reset.
"SPORTbible are on WhatsApp! We've launched a dedicated news channel to send you the latest news, features and plenty more directly on WhatsApp and all you need to do to sign up is click through to our one-way broadcast channel here or 'SPORTbible News' to appear in the 'Updates' tab on your WhatsApp."