Fans think they've spotted major error on Tyson Fury vs Francis Ngannou scorecards
| Last updated
Fans think they've spotted a major error on the judges' scorecards from Tyson Fury's controversial points win over Francis Ngannou.
Despite being knocked down in the third round, Fury was awarded the win after the fight went the full distance. Check out the knockdown below.
The British fighter was given the win 96-93 and 95-94 on two of the judges' cards, with the other judge scoring it 95-94 for Ngannou.
An image of the judges' scorecards has now circulated on social media.
And some fans think they’ve noticed a major error in how the fight was scored.
During the sixth round it appeared that Fury threw an illegal elbow that landed clean on Ngannou's head.
However, the Cameroonian wore the shot well and it was not noticed by the referee in the ring at the time.
As a result, Fury did not have a point taken off him and went on to take the round 10-9 on all three judges' scorecards – which proved crucial in the final scores.
Some fans have claimed that Ngannou should have been awarded the win.
"So, they don't count the Fury elbow, then one of the judges gives Fury 96-93 even with the knockdown..," posted one X user.
"Ngannou was robbed. Fury was dropped and took way more damage than Ngannou. It was a draw at best," added another.
While a third wrote: "On top of that Fury also threw an elbow which is illegal. The judges should have taken a point from that in which is would have been a draw or Francis would have won."
WBC heavyweight belt holder Fury is now set to face unified heavyweight champion Oleksandr Usyk for the undisputed title, with the fight expected to take place early next year.
SPORTbible are on WhatsApp! We've launched a dedicated news channel to send you the latest news, features and plenty more directly on WhatsApp and all you need to do to sign up is click through to our one-way broadcast channel here for 'SPORTbible News' to appear in the 'Updates' tab on your WhatsApp.