| Last updated
However, that wasn't the case on Thursday, when Gary Wilson lost his rag during his Championship League snooker match with John Higgins.
The 35-year-old was 1-1 with the Scot in the best-of-five frame match, with the second frame finely poised at 45-20 to Higgins with Wilson at the table with a relatively easy red to get a break going.
However, it wasn't to be, with the ball rattling in the jaws of the middle pocket before popping back out again.
Wilson didn't take this very well, and his reaction was incedibly relatable for anyone who has played the amateur pub game. He smashed the white into another red which bounced off two cushions and ricocheted off the white again before flying into the top left corner pocket.
Gary Wilson with the most relatable reaction to missing a shot I've ever seen. You've got to admire it in a way. Fully lost his head pic.twitter.com/l6jNgLnuuB
- Jack Kenmare (@jackkenmare_) January 7, 2021
Commentator Phil Yates thought that this meant the Englishman had forfeited the frame, which could have resulted in a hefty fine as you're not allowed to do that while there are stil enough points on the table to win.
The referee had another view though, giving four points for a foul and letting the game continue.
Yates said: "The referee said that was just a foul. That was clearly not just a foul. That was a display of, quite deliberately, anger."
John Higgins beats Gary Wilson 3-1 after a quite bizarre third frame#ChampionshipLeagueSnooker pic.twitter.com/gu5CcBZFav
- Championship League Snooker (@CLSnooker) January 7, 2021
Wilson realised his error later in the frame, and left Higgins a ball over the pocket to make up for the situation. Higgins went on to win the match 3-1, so there was no harm done by the confusion.
Should he be punished? Or is it perfectly understandable?
Chosen for YouChosen for You
Most Read StoriesMost Read