'Pengland Strikes Again!' - Rival Fans Fume As 'Offside' Harry Kane Wins Controversial Penalty
| Last updated
England drew 1-1 with Germany in the Nations League on Tuesday night, with Kane's late equaliser from the penalty spot salvaging a point for Gareth Southgate's men in Munich after Jonas Hofmann had put the home side ahead.
England had been second best for much of the match but were handed an opportunity to equalise four minutes from time when Kane was brought down in the box by Nico Schlotterbeck.
Spanish referee Carlos del Cerro Grande initially waved away the penalty appeals but reversed his decision after seeing a video replay of the incident.
Kane picked himself up to score his 50th goal for the England and is now just three behind Wayne Rooney in the all-time top scorers list for the Three Lions.
While Kane was clearly brought down by Schlotterbeck, some fans have questioned whether the Tottenham striker was in an offside position in the build-up to the incident.
Jack Grealish began the move in midfield, driving forwards with the ball before playing a pass in the direction of Raheem Sterling.
The ball then deflects to Kane, who at first glance appears to be stood in an offside position.
However, replays showed the ball had deflected off a Germany player who had intentionally played the ball.
Harry Kane not offside here 🤔— 𝚁𝚊𝚗𝚐𝚎𝚛55𝚙𝚊𝚛𝚎𝚜 (@Ranger55pares) June 7, 2022
Didn’t think you could win a penalty from an offside position 😂 pic.twitter.com/6Fej0HfB1Z
Wasn’t Kane offside?— Adam Crafton (@AdamCrafton_) June 7, 2022
Came off a Germany player who deliberately played at the ball in so playing Kane onside— Andy Kelly (@Kelbo1178) June 7, 2022
For all those who can’t be happy with an England equaliser!— Telvis (@Telv1s) June 7, 2022
Kane wasn’t interfering as the ball was played from Grealish toward Sterling in the channel! It then deflects to Kane who becomes active but, as it’s from the German defender, he’s onside!! Hope that clears it up!!
Pengland strikes again!— Dalek Alpha (@freddy_krug12) June 7, 2022
Harry Kane was in an offside position when the first pass was played, but the ball was then deliberately played by a Germany defender.— Dale Johnson (@DaleJohnsonESPN) June 7, 2022
Thus there can be no offside against Kane as the phase is reset. #GERENG pic.twitter.com/A6i7zAv960
Nevertheless, fans of England's rivals are convinced that the penalty should not have been awarded.
"Harry Kane not offside here. Didn't think you could win a penalty from an offside position," wrote one Twitter user.
Another added: "Pengland strikes again!"
However, others believe the Spanish referee made the right call.
"Came off a Germany player who deliberately played at the ball in so playing Kane onside," wrote one fan on Twitter.
Another added: "German player made a deliberate attempt at the ball, so it's considered a new phase of play. Therefore, Kane onside. Clearly clipped his calf. Definitely a foul. Offside rule is stupid though."