To make sure you never miss out on your favourite NEW stories, we're happy to send you some reminders

Click 'OK' then 'Allow' to enable notifications

Not now

UEFA Change Formation And Cut Player With More Votes To Make Room For Cristiano Ronaldo

Nasir Jabbar

| Last updated 

UEFA Change Formation And Cut Player With More Votes To Make Room For Cristiano Ronaldo

UEFA shockingly changed their 'Team of the Year' formation to 4-2-4 so they could include Cristiano Ronaldo with N'Golo Kante the unlucky man to miss out.


The European governing body revealed their XI of 2019 as voted by fans on Wednesday.

But they sprang a surprise when they unveiled a bizarre formation with four attackers in their line-up.

Ronaldo featured alongside Lionel Messi, Sadio Mane and Robert Lewandowski despite finishing fourth in the forwards section after receiving less votes.

And it's understood that Kante was the unfortunate player to miss out.

Image: PA
Image: PA

UEFA's decision to squeeze Ronaldo in their XI sent social media into overdrive with fans questioning their integrity.

"Formation 4:2:4 just to accommodate Ronaldo after a bad year," one social media user wrote.

A second tweeted: "You've changed the formation to 4-2-4 just to fit Ronaldo in... Corrupt Uefa again shows their Ronaldo bias."

A third tweeted: "Is a joke? What Ronaldo is doing there? This UEFA is a gang of corrupt and it will never change. I hope the others good players are playing tennis."

Another added: "You just had to find a way to put Ronaldo there."

Image: PA
Image: PA

A UEFA spokesperson said: "The formation for this year's team of the year was chosen to reflect the votes of the fans in parallel with the players' achievements in UEFA competitions.

"As a result, there are five UEFA Champions League winners and four UEFA Nations League finalists (including one winner). The formation changes on a regular basis and this year is no exception."

UEFA's fans' 'Team of the Year' also included Alisson, Virgil van Dijk, Andy Robertson, Trent Alexander-Arnold, Matthijs de Ligt, Frenkie de Jong and Kevin De Bruyne.

Topics: Football News, Kante, Football, Ronaldo, UEFA, Team Of The Year

Nasir Jabbar
More like this

Chosen for YouChosen for You


Casemiro knows the clubs that are a threat to Man Utd's long-term success

4 minutes ago

Most Read StoriesMost Read

Fan creates petition for UEFA to investigate Chelsea's spending if they sign Enzo Fernandez

2 hours ago