Manchester United Denied Penalty By VAR For Callum Hudson-Odoi Handball
Manchester United were denied a first-half penalty against Chelsea at Stamford Bridge on Sunday afternoon.
15 minutes into the game, Chelsea players were appealing for handball against Mason Greenwood inside their own box after Edouard Mendy saved a Marcus Rashford free-kick.
However, VAR then checked to see whether Callum Hudson-Odoi had handled first.
Footage looked pretty conclusive but upon checking the screen, as both sets of players berated him, referee Stuart Attwell decided against giving the spot-kick.
NO PENALTY :x::soccer:
The ball strikes Hudson-Odoi's hand in the box and Stuart Attwell consults the pitch-side monitor before deciding against awarding the penalty.
:tv: Watch on Sky Sports PL
:iphone: Follow #CHEMUN here: https://t.co/EXE7ptou1X
:calling: Download the @SkySports app! pic.twitter.com/B9lhod1NY4
- Sky Sports Premier League (@SkySportsPL) February 28, 2021
The handball rule appears to be changing every week this season and fans were confused as to how Hudson-Odoi's hand was deemed to have not been in an unnatural position considering some of the other incidents this term.
The handball rule needs to be seriously looked at. Changing their minds every week. That's handball from Hudson Odoi there- Ryan (@United277) February 28, 2021
Sorry can someone explain how that isn't a handball from Hudson-Odoi? #MUNCHE- Paddy (@PatrickC28997) February 28, 2021
More Like ThisMore Like This
Since when did the handball rule change? It's a silly rule but let's have some consistency. If it touches the arm or hand then it's a penalty. Hudson-Odoi touched it with his hand. No penalty.- Big Sam (@Allardyci) February 28, 2021
I have no idea what handball is anymore but I think that's probably a penalty. Hudson-Odoi has absolutely no reason to have his arm in that position and the ball hits his hand so probably should be given.- Dan McLaughlin (@Dan23_92) February 28, 2021
I still find it weird that we have rule changes midway through a season, that Hudson-odoi handball would be given before the rule change. So some teams are getting an advantage now.- Justin (@jutin__) February 28, 2021
That's a disgrace of a decision. Blatant handball - Hudson-Odoi's hand in a completely unnatural position, stopping Greenwood from getting the ball. Same story here with Premier League referees across the weekend, standard is rock bottom. Absurd. #MUFC- Joe Lyons (@JoeLyonsJourno) February 28, 2021
VAR: shows Hudson Odoi handball it in the penalty area, in slow motion- Conor Tierney (@ConorTierney9) February 28, 2021
The ref: pic.twitter.com/MjXVGxIEMD
Callum Hudson-Odoi handball's it twice in his own the box, but no penalty given.- Ryan. :red_circle: (@Vintage_Utd) February 28, 2021
Man Utd pay the referees, though. :thumbsup:
Looked rather clear that Hudson-Odoi gets there ahead of Greenwood by using his hand. Albeit not doing so intentionally, but he seems to get an advantage. Which, if I understand the handball rule correctly (I probably don't) would result in a penalty to Man United.- Jonas Giæver (@CheGiaevara) February 28, 2021
He punched the ball?- (@ShameIessFC) February 28, 2021
Unsurprisingly, managers Thomas Tuchel and Ole Gunnar Solskjaer had different opinions on the call - leading to a bit of a touchline row between the pair during their fifth meeting.
Chosen for YouChosen for You
Most Read StoriesMost Read