To make sure you never miss out on your favourite NEW stories, we're happy to send you some reminders

Click 'OK' then 'Allow' to enable notifications

Not now

Manchester United Fan Is Convinced That Erik Ten Hag Is Delivering The 21st League Title

Josh Lawless

| Last updated 

Manchester United Fan Is Convinced That Erik Ten Hag Is Delivering The 21st League Title

A Manchester United fan has created a theory on why the club's 21st league title is "loading" under Erik ten Hag.

Having left Ajax to take the reins at Old Trafford, Ten Hag is beginning to put his stamp on the United team and has won his first two games in charge.


United destroyed Liverpool 4-0 to win the Bangkok Century Cup earlier this week, before beating Melbourne Victory 4-1 in a game where Jadon Sancho provided plenty of excitement.

Over on Twitter, @canelo____ reckons everything is in place for United to be successful in the Premier League this term.

He believes the likes of Sancho, Marcus Rashford, Bruno Fernandes and Anthony Martial have the potential to thrive under Ten Hag.

But interestingly, he's also picked up on a pattern involving the No.21. The Red Devils have just announced the signing of Christian Eriksen on a free transfer, with the Dane penning a three-year deal after leaving Brentford.

At Brentford, where he played 11 times after being given the chance to return to action following that frightening Euro 2020 cardiac arrest, Eriksen wore the No.21.

Image: Alamy
Image: Alamy

Ajax defender Lisandro Martinez, who is set to become United's third summer signing in a £46 million switch, also wears the same number.

And it's also the favourite number for United's top transfer target Frenkie de Jong, who has sported it for both Ajax and Barcelona.

When you throw in the fact that Ten Hag was announced on 21 April, United's title win is obviously nailed on.

@canelo____ also pointed out that Robin van Persie wore the No.20 shirt at United when he joined from Arsenal in 2012.

The Dutchman went on to single-handedly fire United to their 20th league title with 26 goals in the 2012/13 season.

Image: Alamy
Image: Alamy

Sir Alex Ferguson retired at the end of the campaign and United have not won the league since - with David Moyes, Louis van Gaal, Jose Mourinho and Ole Gunnar Solskjaer all being given the boot.

The 13-time Premier League champions haven't won a trophy since the Europa League in 2017 and suffered their worst ever points tally last term.

Featured Image Credit: Image: Alamy

Topics: Manchester United, Erik Ten Hag, Frenkie De Jong, Lisandro Martinez, Christian Eriksen

Josh Lawless
More like this

Chosen for YouChosen for You


Jack Grealish says he 'regrets' mocking Miguel Almiron, he sent an apology to the Newcastle player

an hour ago

Most Read StoriesMost Read

Major VAR controversy as Japan take the lead against Spain

4 hours ago