To make sure you never miss out on your favourite NEW stories, we're happy to send you some reminders

Click 'OK' then 'Allow' to enable notifications

Not now

The 2016 Golden Boy Award Winner Has Been Crowned

| Last updated 

The 2016 Golden Boy Award Winner Has Been Crowned

The 2016 Golden Boy award winner has been announced, with Bayern Munich midfielder Renato Sanches picking up the award for the best player 21 and under.

Manchester United and England hot-shot Marcus Rashford came second in the voting, while Nigerian pair Alex Iwobi and Kelechi Iheanacho were also in contention.There was more presence in the Premier League from the likes of Leroy Sane, Dele Alli, Ruben Loftus-Cheek, Liverpool's Marko Grujic and title-winner Demarai Gray.

However it was Renato Sanches who picked up the award, following on from some scintillating displays at club and international level, including making a real impression for Portugal as they went all the way in Euro 2016.

It's fair to say that Benfica, who Sanches spent 10 years with in the youth set-up and then the first-team, were ecstatic at their youth product winning the coveted award.


The 19-year old got his big move to Bayern in the summer and looks set to blossom into an incredibly exciting all-round midfield player.

If the careers of the majority of past winners are anything to go by, Sanches could be destined for huge things in his career.


Lionel Messi, Sergio Aguero, Isco and Paul Pogba are just a few names to have won the award run by Tuttosport.

Topics: Alex Iwobi, Renato Sanches, Bayern Munich

Josh Lawless
More like this

Chosen for YouChosen for You


Qatar World Cup set to be earlier than planned with FIFA expected to move start date forward

7 minutes ago

Most Read StoriesMost Read

Gabby Agbonlahor claims he would rather have Marko Arnautovic at Manchester United than Jadon Sancho

2 hours ago