Chelsea Have Fined Kepa Arrizabalaga For His Refusal To Come Off In Carabao Cup Final
Chelsea have confirmed Kepa Arrizabalaga is to be fined one week's wages following his refusal to be substituted in the Carabao Cup final on Sunday.
In the latter stages of extra time in what was a pretty dire cup final at Wembley, massive drama ensued when the Chelsea No.1 went down with cramp on more than one occasion late on.
Feeling that Kepa could not continue, Willy Caballero was stripped and ready to come on against his former club. What's more, the fourth official had the board prepared.
But much to the anger of Maurizio Sarri, who probably needed about 20 packs of cigarettes to calm himself down later on, the 24-year old Spaniard was adamant he wanted to stay on and got his way.
This is unbelievable! :scream_cat::scream_cat:
:no_entry: Kepa refuses to be substituted
:rage: Sarri loses his cool, throws a bottle and storms off down the tunnel!
Have you ever seen anything like this in a cup final before?!? :astonished::astonished: pic.twitter.com/uypwckJvhH
- Soccer AM (@SoccerAM) February 24, 2019
After disobeying his manager's orders, Kepa will donate a week's worth of wages to the Chelsea foundation. Kepa, the most expensive goalkeeper in football history after his £71 million summer move from Athletic Bilbao, is said to earn around £190,000-per-week.
OFFICIAL: @ChelseaFC have fined Kepa Arrizabalaga The Club one week's wages for his conduct during the Carabao Cup final.
The money will be donated to the Chelsea Foundation. pic.twitter.com/RLqDKsyiqh
- Squawka News (@SquawkaNews) February 25, 2019
In an article on Chelsea's official website, both Kepa and Sarri have issued statements on the matter.
"Although there was a misunderstanding, on reflection, I made a big mistake with how I handled the situation," Kepa said.
"I have done this and now I want to offer the same apology to the fans. I will learn from this episode and will accept any punishment or discipline the club decides is appropriate."
Sarri, meanwhile, revealed Kepa apologised to him and now considers the incident to be over and done with.
"Kepa realises he made a big mistake in the way he reacted," the Italian commented.
"He has apologised to me, his team-mates and the club. It is up to the club if they want to discipline him according to the club rules, but for me this matter is now closed.
"The team performance as a whole was extremely positive and it is a shame to see how this incident has overshadowed our efforts in what was a very competitive cup final."
Is this punishment necessary for Kepa? Sound off in the comments.