| Last updated
Fans think Fernandinho got away with one after he left a boot in on Mason Mount during Manchester City's FA Cup semi-final against Chelsea.
During a tight first half, the Chelsea midfielder was tussling for the ball with the Brazilian when he found himself on the turf. Fernandinho jumped over him, but his boot briefly made contact with Mount's face.
It was not hard enough to hurt Mount - but he clearly felt it as he tried to block Fernandinho's boot with his hands as he lay on the ground. Mount then sat up and pointed to his cheek where the impact happened.
Did Fernandinho get away with one here? :eyes: pic.twitter.com/kzB0l85ouu- ESPN FC (@ESPNFC) April 17, 2021
Fans on Twitter praised Mount for not overreacting to the sneaky graze across the face.
However others questioned how on earth Fernandinho did not get at least a booking for what was arguably a deliberate action (even if it was intended more to wind Mount up rather than actually hurt him).
How is this not a booking or even a straight red wtf♂️ https://t.co/sW0di9f2Q7- TMJ_17 (@TMJ_171) April 17, 2021
Michael Dean of the Wirral, professional referee. https://t.co/HNwz9L149t- For The Love of Paul McGrath Villa Podcast (@LoveMcGrathpod) April 17, 2021
Fernandinho fortunate that Mount did not seek to make more of this https://t.co/b862rTHUh6- Oliver Holt (@OllieHolt22) April 17, 2021
All credit to Mason Mount's reaction here - had every right to make big issue of it https://t.co/WrPUURHmpE- Matt Lynch (@mattlyynch) April 17, 2021
Yes he did. It was 100% intentional. Does this stunts often but is a professional about these kind of things. :joy:- SimeonTheZaddy (@oyisii) April 17, 2021
Other fans claimed it was clearly accidental and that the Brazilian was actively trying to avoid landing on the Chelsea man.
It was the most notable action of a goalless first half where Chelsea had the best of the chances, including a good opportunity for Ben Chilwell.
However the two sides went into the break at 0-0 - and with Fernandinho having escaped the half without a yellow card (or worse) to his name.
A beautiful goal was disallowed for a whole lot less than this against United last Sunday, the officiating in England is bottom barrel. https://t.co/JDTxFpZKBV- Eghe:tm: (@egheCodes) April 17, 2021
Doesn't matter if it's a mistake or not if you step on someone's face :joy:- Brayden (@KAMMAR_time) April 17, 2021
The more I see of this the more obvious a red it is https://t.co/932TzAgfK4- Sir Pringle (@DanTheDazzler) April 17, 2021
Featured image credit: ESPN/Twitter
Chosen for YouChosen for You
Most Read StoriesMost Read