To make sure you never miss out on your favourite NEW stories, we're happy to send you some reminders

Click 'OK' then 'Allow' to enable notifications

Not now

30 Nominees For This Year's Ballon d'Or Have Been Revealed

James Aldred

| Last updated 

30 Nominees For This Year's Ballon d'Or Have Been Revealed

The list of 30 nominees for this year's Ballon d'Or has been revealed.

It features some of the biggest and best players in the beautiful game, including the likes of Kylian Mbappé, Cristiano Ronaldo and a certain Lionel Messi.

Many members of the Italy squad who lifted Euro 2020 are also present. These include imperious centre backs Giorgio Chiellini and Leonardo Bonucci, Jorginho and Gianluigi Donnarumma, who performed heroics in the final against England.

Some who were on the losing side that day are also in contention to lift the famous prize, with Phil Foden, Mason Mount, Harry Kane and Raheem Sterling all shortlisted.

Image Credit- PA Images
Image Credit- PA Images

They're four of a fair few Premier League players who are also included. Kevin de Bruyne, Rúben Dias,, Bruno Fernandes, N'Golo Kanté, Romelu Lukaku, Riyad Mahrez and Mohamed Salah are also in the mix.

The latter is considered to be one of the favourites, as he enjoys another stunning start to the season for Liverpool. Former Reds defender Jamie Carragher considers the ex-Roma and Chelsea winger to be the best player in the world at this moment in time.

"I don't think there's anyone playing better in the world or in Europe at the moment," Carragher said on Sky Sports after Salah's sublime strike against Manchester City last Sunday. "His record at the start of this season has been absolutely outstanding.

Image Credit- PA Images
Image Credit- PA Images

"You can never really question him for what he's done at Liverpool - if at all - but right now is as probably as sharp and as good as I've ever seen him."

Conceived by sports writer Gabriel Hanot in 1956, the Ballon d'Or has been awarded to the world's best player based on the votes of football journalists, coaches and captains of national teams.

The inaugural winner was the legendary Stanley Matthews of Stoke City, Blackpool and Toronto City respectively. Lionel Messi has received the honour on a record six occasions, with Cristiano Ronaldo, Michel Platini and Johan Cruyff trailing just behind.

Image Credit- PA Images
Image Credit- PA Images

This year's men's and women's winners will be crowned on 29th November at a gala event in the Chatelet Theatre in Paris.

Topics: Lionel Messi, Ballon d'Or, Kylian Mbappe, Mohamed Salah, Cristiano Ronaldo

James Aldred
More like this

Chosen for YouChosen for You


Virgil van Dijk gives Cody Gakpo some brutally honest transfer advice, Man Utd fans are fuming

10 minutes ago

Most Read StoriesMost Read

4K image proves controversial Japan goal vs Spain was right to stand

2 days ago