To make sure you never miss out on your favourite NEW stories, we're happy to send you some reminders
Click 'OK' then 'Allow' to enable notifications
| Last updated
Tyson Fury revealed that Deontay Wilder said he didn't want to 'show sportsmanship or respect' after their epic 11 round WBC world heavyweight title fight.
Wilder had excused his defeat in the second fight between the two men, back in February 2020, in so many ways that everyone had lost count.
From blaming coach Mark Breland for throwing in the towel, to saying his entrance gear was too heavy, to claiming Fury cheated, something the Brit mocked again on Saturday, the American had said all sorts of nonsense.
He gained a lot of respect back from fans during the third fight on Saturday, as he came out firing and showing much more boxing skill, to cause two knockdowns of his own.
The Bronze Bomer's resilience during the fight also helped with the respect and, when he was finally stopped in the penultimate round, Fury wanted to share those feelings with his rival, but clearly the American had no interest.
Speaking to Steve Bunce, the undefeated WBC champion revealed he'd simply said 'well done' to his fallen opponent but it clearly didn't go down well.
The 2008 Olympic bronze medalist replied, "I don't want to show any sportsmanship or respect."
Fury said he just answered "No problem," before Wilder left the ring swiftly after the final result had been announced in the centre of the ring, not giving his own interview.
The pair have swapped plenty of insults over the years of their rivalry and Fury understandably called the former champion a 'sore loser' after his lack of respect.
"He took his licks and got back up."— Boxing on BT Sport 🥊 (@BTSportBoxing) October 10, 2021
"It was a great performance. A great victory!"@davidhaye weighs in on @Tyson_Fury's win in the trilogy fight with Deontay Wilder! 👏#FuryWilder3 pic.twitter.com/kNZgEprhg9
As well as Wilder's excuses, the 35-year-old had claimed that the stoppage in the second fight wasn't a knockout, because it was down to his coach throwing the towel in.
However he had included his own knockdown of Fury in the first fight amongst his three greatest knockouts of his career, despite the Gypsy King answering the count on that occasion and bossing the remainder of the round.
On Saturday there was no doubt about the knockout, which followed two other knockdowns by the British boxer of his opponent.
One judge managed to miss the second of those somehow, only scoring the round 10-9 in favour of the eventual winner.
Chosen for YouChosen for You
Most Read StoriesMost Read