To make sure you never miss out on your favourite NEW stories, we're happy to send you some reminders

Click 'OK' then 'Allow' to enable notifications

Not now

New South Wales And Queensland Announce Their Squads For State Of Origin Game 1

| Last updated 

New South Wales And Queensland Announce Their Squads For State Of Origin Game 1

Brad Fittler and Billy Slater have named their 22-man sides for State of Origin Game 1 in 2022.

For Fittler's New South Wales, the team consists of the usual suspects like James Tedesco, Nathan Cleary and Jarome Luai, and also welcomes six debutants in Stephen Crichton, Nicho Hynes, Ryan Matterson, Jacob Saifiti, Joseph Suaalii and Kotoni Staggs.

But there are a few surprise omissions too with Blues stalwarts Josh Addo-Carr and Jake Trbojevic both left out.


As for Slater's first ever Queensland side as head coach, Daly Cherry Evans will once again captain the team as halfback, partnering Cameron Munster.

Selwyn Cobbo and Patrick Carrigan's top form at the Bronco's has earned them a spot, while the Cowboys' sensational season has seen six of its stars pinch a Maroons jersey.

But two big omissions are Titans wrecking ball David Fifita and Brisbane high-flyer Corey Oates.


NSW BLUES SQUAD (in alphabetical order):

Reagan Campbell-Gillard (Parramatta Eels)
Nathan Cleary (Penrith Panthers)
Damien Cook (South Sydney Rabbitohs)
Stephen Crichton (Penrith Panthers)
Tyson Frizell (Newcastle Knights)
Payne Haas (Brisbane Broncos)
Nicho Hynes (Cronulla-Sutherland Sharks)
Apisai Koroisau (Penrith Panthers)
Jarome Luai (Penrith Panthers)
Junior Paulo (Parramatta Eels)
Liam Martin (Penrith Panthers)
Ryan Matterson (Parramatta Eels)
Cameron Murray (South Sydney Rabbitohs)
Jacob Saifiti (Newcastle Knights)
Tariq Sims (St George Illawarra Dragons)
Kotoni Staggs (Brisbane Broncos)
Joseph Suaalii (Sydney Roosters)
James Tedesco (c) (Sydney Roosters)
Brian To'o (Penrith Panthers)
Daniel Tupou (Sydney Roosters)
Jack Wighton (Canberra Raiders)
Isaah Yeo (Penrith Panthers)



1. Kalyn Ponga - Newcastle Knights

2. Selwyn Cobbo - Brisbane Broncos

3. Valentine Holmes - North Queensland Cowboys

4. Dane Gagai - Newcastle Knights


5. Xavier Coates - Melbourne Storm

6. Cameron Munster - Melbourne Storm

7. Daly Cherry-Evans - Manly Sea Eagles

8. Tino Fa'asuamaleaui - Gold Coast Titans


9. Ben Hunt - St George Illawarra Dragons

10. Josh Papalii - Canberra Raiders

11. Kurt Capewell - Brisbane Broncos

12. Felise Kaufusi - Melbourne Storm

13. Reuben Cotter - North Queensland Cowboys

14. Harry Grant - Melbourne Storm

15. Lindsay Collins - Sydney Roosters

16. Patrick Carrigan - Brisbane Broncos

17. Jeremiah Nanai - North Queensland Cowboys

18. Tom Dearden - North Queensland Cowboys

19. Jai Arrow - South Sydney Rabbitohs

20. Thomas Flegler - Brisbane Broncos

21. Hamiso Tabuai-Fidow - North Queensland Cowboys

22. Murray Taulagi - North Queensland Cowboys

Featured Image Credit: NRL

Topics: queensland, New South Wales, Rugby League, nrl, State of Origin, Australia

Danielle Smith
More like this

Chosen for YouChosen for You


Atletico Madrid mock Manchester United with cheeky tweet after 'rejecting huge €130m bid for Joao Felix'

4 hours ago

Most Read StoriesMost Read

British billionaire Sir Jim Ratcliffe confirms he wants to buy Manchester United

6 hours ago