To make sure you never miss out on your favourite NEW stories, we're happy to send you some reminders
Click 'OK' then 'Allow' to enable notifications
Featured Image Credit: The United Stand/YouTube
In the 64th minute, Matt Crooks equalised for the Championship side in very controversial fashion. Moments earlier, Duncan Watmore controlled the ball with his right foot and then brought it down with his hand.
Watmore then proceeded to cross the ball before Crooks bundled it home from close range.
The decision went to VAR and to the surprise of many, it was billed as an 'accidental handball' in the build-up.
A change to the handball rules by the International Football Association Board (IFAB) last year means accidental handball ‘will no longer be considered an offence.’
“He’s handballed it. He’s b***** handballed it," Goldbridge says confidently. "There’s VAR. We’ll be fine. Look at them celebrating. He’s handballed it, I can see it from here. It’s not a goal, it’s a handball. Shut up, calm down. Don’t worry about it."
He continues: “I almost feel sorry for him. Crooks: You are going to make yourself look like a right prat. There’s VAR in the FA Cup at Old Trafford. They are running around like they’ve won the World Cup. Absolute prats. He thinks he’s it."
Moments later, Crooks' goal was given and well, an outraged Goldbridge couldn't quite believe what he was seeing.
“He’s given it! What the f***! He’s given it! What the b***** hell! How has he given the goal?! He’s b***** handballed it. How the hell has that been given? Are you having a b****** laugh?
"Somebody tell me the rules. What the actual f*** has gone on there. How the hell has that been given?!”
Goldbridge wasn't the only fan to find fault with the decision. Gary Lineker labelled the handball rule "ridiculous" following the incident. "The right decision given the absurdity of the law," he tweeted.
"Clearly accidental but If he’d scored himself it would have been disallowed. The handball law used to be fine. They’ve made it ridiculous."
The right decision given the absurdity of the law. Clearly accidental but If he’d scored himself it would have been disallowed. The handball law used to be fine. They’ve made it ridiculous.— Gary Lineker 💙 (@GaryLineker) February 4, 2022
Thoughts on the decision?
Let us know in the comments.