Referee Goes Mad At UFC Fighter After Three Illegal Shots In A Single Round
Referee Marc Goddard lost it with fighter Roman Bogatov after he came up with multiple illegal blows in the same round at UFC 251 last night.
The Russian lightweight twice hit his opponent Leonardo Santos with knee strikes below the belt right to his groin. Santos was clearly in pain and Bogatov received a stern warning following his first foul.
But not long after and he's at it again with a carbon copy situation that prompted British ref Goddard to halt the fight yet again and go over to Bogatov's translator to stress that he needed to stop with the blows to Santos' cup.
He did not get the message and another brutal illegal blow followed as the final one minute of the round approached.
This time, with Santos on one knee and up against the cage, Bogatov caught him flush with a knee strike right to the face and Goddard went mad.
"Woah... What are you doing?" the official shouted, before saying, "How many times?"
More Like ThisMore Like This
After a third instance, Goddard had no choice but to deduct two points from Bogatov and it ultimately proved crucial to the fight result.
The bout was scored 29-26 in favour of Santos by all three judges, meaning the Brazilian is now on a six-fight winning streak in the lightweight division.
Bogatov was actually unbeaten going into this 'Fight Island' encounter on the UFC 251 preliminary bouts but suffered a deserved first loss that could have quite easily have seen him disqualified.
Goddard would later officiate the main event as Kamaru Usman defended his welterweight title with a unanimous points victory over Jorge Masvidal.
Subscribe to Fight Pass, where you'll get access to every UFC fight ever, plus behind the scenes exclusives and original content that can't be found anywhere else.
Chosen for YouChosen for You
Most Read StoriesMost Read