Jon Jones' Only UFC 'Loss' Still Remains Controversial
Jon Jones has only lost once in his UFC career and the decision still remains controversial ten years on.
Jones was disqualified from his bout with Matt Hamill at the The Ultimate Fighter Heavyweights Finale back in December 2009.
The reason for his disqualification was cited as being down to his 'illegal elbows'.
That means his record stands at 25-1.
Jones was in full control during the fight and managed to thwart Hamill's various holds with his own vicious strikes.
"He's taking some big elbows, Mike," commentator Joe Rogan said as Jones landed heavy blows with both arms.
Hamill would refuse to submit and Jones decided to switch his elbows up which inevitably lead to his DQ.
"You can't do 12-to-six," said Rogan explaining why Jones' elbow was illegal.
This is what caused referee Steve Mazzagatti to intervene and stop the fight.
The crowd and even Jones himself believed he had sealed a victory.
But announcer Bruce Buffer informed the crowd that Jones had been disqualified 'due to intentional elbows'.
More Like ThisMore Like This
Hamill had dislocated his shoulder earlier in the fight and many believe it should have stopped then.
Referee Steve Mazzagatti disqualifies Jon Jones for hitting Matt Hamill with illegal 12-6 elbows
This is recorded as the only loss of Jones' professional career pic.twitter.com/bDGhlmdb6D
- MMA History Today (@MMAHistoryToday) December 6, 2017
Jones looked shocked in the initial footage after the fight but he did speak candidly after it.
Per MMA Junkie, he said:
"God is still really good to me, and life is so great.
"Everything happens for a reason."
UFC President Dana White even sided with Jones on the decision.
"It shouldn't have happened," he said in 2010 per Bleacher Report.
"It shouldn't have happened that way. He shouldn't have a loss, so it's unfortunate."
Hamill himself also doesn't take credit for defeating the 32-year-old.
Per MMA Junkie, he said following the fight:
"He definitely didn't lose this fight, and I definitely didn't win, but I guess the rules are there for a reason.
"It is what it is. I went into this fight feeling like my record was actually 9-1, so with this so-called win, I will now consider my record 9-2."
Chosen for YouChosen for You
Most Read StoriesMost Read