To make sure you never miss out on your favourite NEW stories, we're happy to send you some reminders

Click 'OK' then 'Allow' to enable notifications

Not now
OK
Advert

When Joe Hart Had To Explain One Of Football's Most Bizarre Rules After Disallowed Goal In 2014

Published 
| Last updated 

When Joe Hart Had To Explain One Of Football's Most Bizarre Rules After Disallowed Goal In 2014

Joe Hart had to explain one of the most strange laws in football back in November 2014 after Charlie Austin had a goal chalked off for QPR.

Austin pounced on a mistake from the Manchester City goalkeeper, who had played the ball straight at his feet before seeing the striker smash a low finish past him.

Loading…

The Rs No.9 thought he had opened the scoring and proceeded to celebrate with a chicken dance.

Advert

But Hart immediately protested to referee Mike Dean and his appeals were successful as the goal was disallowed.


Hart had inadvertently kicked the ball with his right foot onto his left and the double touch - coupled with the fact the ball did not leave the area - meant Austin's goal could not stand.

Advert

The free-kick was given after Austin had another goal disallowed for offside.

Law 13 in the rule book, specifically focusing on free-kicks, states that, "If, when a free-kick is taken by the defending team from inside its own penalty area, the ball is not kicked directly out of the penalty area, the kick is retaken".

Hart was clued up on the ruling and was seen conversing with both Rob Green and Austin regarding the confusing call after the 2-2 draw.

Advert


“I knew the rules and touched it twice," the former England goalkeeper explained to Sky Sports.

"I’d touched it twice with my feet obviously. It’s a mistake and not ideal but rules are rules.

“I was looking at Mangala to pass to him because I was aware of Charlie and it hit my right foot and left foot and went straight to him.”

Advert

Austin also had another disallowed goal and was on the scoresheet legally in an eventful first half at Loftus Road.

Asked if he was aware of the two touches from Hart, Austin responded: "Didn't you see from my celebration? I turned around and no one was with me. When I looked back, everyone was around the ref."

City were also beneficiaries of the same ruling from a penalty three years later when Riyad Mahrez, playing for Leicester at the time, scored his spot-kick but kicked the ball against his standing foot while slipping.

Willy Caballero was quick to spot the error and protested to referee Bobby Madley, who disallowed the goal.

Advert


Featured Image Credit: Image: Sky Sports

Topics: Joe Hart, QPR, Manchester City, Premier League

Josh Lawless
More like this
Advert
Advert
Advert

Chosen for YouChosen for You

Football

Kylian Mbappe appears to 'stop running' during counter attack because nobody passed to him, footage is damning

3 hours ago

Most Read StoriesMost Read

Manchester United are BOTTOM of the Premier League after losing 4-0 to Brentford

7 hours ago