| Last updated
Roma missed a penalty which was awarded despite Tammy Abraham having the ball in the net after Henrikh Mkhitaryan was fouled.
In the clash with Juventus on Sunday evening, the England striker thought he'd continued his fine run of form with an equaliser.
He looked to have been tripped himself in the area and appealed for a penalty, but play continued as the ball fell rather kindly to Mkhitaryan.
▪️Tammy Abraham thinks he's equalised— Football on BT Sport (@btsportfootball) October 17, 2021
▪️Referee stops play and awards Roma a penalty
▪️Szczęsny saves Veretout's spot kick
High drama in this Serie A clash between Juventus & Roma 😅 pic.twitter.com/hq72IH6gJB
He was taken out by former Roma goalkeeper Wojciech Szczesny as he dinked the ball over him.
The referee blew for a penalty that Roma missed after they’d already scored 😂 but look at Tammy man, so inspirational.— Umir (@umirf1) October 17, 2021
Will continue talking about his quality. Been there for a long while.
Abraham capitalised on the loose ball and slotted home from close range but confusingly, referee Daniele Orsato did not allow the advantage and instead blew the whistle for the penalty.
Typically, Jordan Veretout, who had scored 13 consecutive spot-kicks for Roma beforehand, saw his effort from 12 yards saved by Szczesny, who dived down to his left and pushed the ball away.
Fans vented over the poor officiating, which went against the rules:
That is some baffling officiating from Orsato in the Juve-Roma game. Gives a foul just as Abraham is tapping into an empty net and then Roma go and miss the following penalty.— James Phillips (@JJP_LFC) October 17, 2021
No way, Roma scored but a penalty was given and then Juve save the penalty. They’ve been robbed— City Section (@CitySection) October 17, 2021
Why did this referee award the penalty while Roma still had the chance to score? Now they've missed the penalty.— Dikachi (@Otunbakahill) October 17, 2021
If Mourinho didn't like Orsato before tonight's match, he'll be fuming with him after that penalty incident. Should have played advantage. Roma far rather a goal than a penalty which they could (and did) miss.— Stewart Hogarth (@HogeyBear92) October 17, 2021
Terrible refereeing for the penalty in the Juve–Roma game. Ref should have waited to see where the ball fell. No need to rush the decision.— der Retter (@der_Retter_) October 17, 2021
Roma have just scored a tap in and the ref has brought it back and gave them a penalty instead.— Pena Cartel (@PenaCartel) October 17, 2021
What a mess in the Juve v Roma game.— EiF (@EiFSoccer) October 17, 2021
Tammy dribbled past 2 people and got brought down in the box, before Mkhitaryan was also fouled in the box and Roma eventually scored.
Unfortunately, the ref gave a penalty rather than the advantage and...Roma missed it.
Mourinho is fuming.
Juve vs. Roma already with plenty of controversy, with Orsato pointing to the penalty spot right away rather than playing advantage, which led to a Roma goal..— Matteo Bonetti (@Bonetti) October 17, 2021
Seriously, why are you giving a penalty when Abraham is about to tap in the easiest goal he'll ever score?— Pena Cartel (@PenaCartel) October 17, 2021
Shambles of a decision and cost Roma an equaliser pic.twitter.com/mr702pEf0G
Juventus are leading at the Allianz Stadium courtesy of a header from Moise Kean in the 16th minute. If the result stays this way, you'd imagine Jose Mourinho won't be pulling any punches in his post-match press conference.
Chosen for YouChosen for You
Most Read StoriesMost Read