Advert

Roma Miss Penalty Awarded After Tammy Abraham Had The Ball In The Net Vs Juventus

Published 
| Last updated 

Roma Miss Penalty Awarded After Tammy Abraham Had The Ball In The Net Vs Juventus

Roma missed a penalty which was awarded despite Tammy Abraham having the ball in the net after Henrikh Mkhitaryan was fouled.

In the clash with Juventus on Sunday evening, the England striker thought he'd continued his fine run of form with an equaliser.

He looked to have been tripped himself in the area and appealed for a penalty, but play continued as the ball fell rather kindly to Mkhitaryan.

Advert

He was taken out by former Roma goalkeeper Wojciech Szczesny as he dinked the ball over him.

Abraham capitalised on the loose ball and slotted home from close range but confusingly, referee Daniele Orsato did not allow the advantage and instead blew the whistle for the penalty.

Typically, Jordan Veretout, who had scored 13 consecutive spot-kicks for Roma beforehand, saw his effort from 12 yards saved by Szczesny, who dived down to his left and pushed the ball away.

Advert

Fans vented over the poor officiating, which went against the rules:


Advert


Advert


Advert


Juventus are leading at the Allianz Stadium courtesy of a header from Moise Kean in the 16th minute. If the result stays this way, you'd imagine Jose Mourinho won't be pulling any punches in his post-match press conference.

Featured Image Credit: Image: BT Sport

Topics: Roma, Juventus, Serie A

Josh Lawless
More like this
Advert
Advert
Advert

Chosen for YouChosen for You

WWE

Jake Paul Challenged To WWE Match By Active Superstar, He's Been Called 'No 1 Heel In The World'

12 hours ago

Most Read StoriesMost Read

UFC

Hasbulla Has Been ‘Suspended’ By Instagram After 'Sending Vile Death Threat To A Woman'

16 hours ago