Advert

Latest

6 hours ago
Advert
6 hours ago
Advert

Most Popular

14 hours ago
Advert

VAR Didn't Penalise Liverpool's Adrian For Coming Off His Line Because Of New Law

VAR Didn't Penalise Liverpool's Adrian For Coming Off His Line Because Of New Law

Goalkeepers will only be penalised by VAR for leaving the goalline if it is a 'blatant' and 'clear' violation of the new law.

The news comes after Liverpool goalkeeper Adrian stepped off his line to save the crucial penalty in last night's Super Cup final against Chelsea.

Many argued the penalty should have been retaken after the Spaniard failed to place either one of his feet on the line, but no action was taken and Liverpool won the shoot-out.

Advert

In fairness, UEFA ruling does state the following:

"Penalties: Keepers must have at least one foot on the line when a kick is taken, cannot feign movement beforehand, stand behind the line or touch the frame of the goal, otherwise the penalty will be retaken."

So why wasn't Tammy Abraham's penalty retaken on Wednesday night?

Advert

Roberto Rosetti, who is UEFA's Chief Refereeing Officer, was briefed before the Super Cup that goalkeepers will only be penalised by VAR for leaving the goalline if it's a 'blatant' and 'clear' violation of the new law.

More Like ThisMore Like This

1 of 6

ESPN's Dale Johnson confirmed the confusing law changes.

Advert

Liverpool goalkeeper Adrian admitted in a post-match interview that he struggles to stay on his goalline for penalties.

"It is really difficult to be on the line because we need a step forward to push, but in the end we need to wait until he strikes." he told BT Sport.

"I knew his [Abraham's] strong side is my left, so I tried to go there and save with my right foot."

Advert

Thoughts on the law changes?

Let us know in the comments.

Topics: Liverpool, Football News, Chelsea, Football, Penalty, VAR

Jack Kenmare

Jack Kenmare is a writer at SPORTbible. He's interviewed some of the biggest names in sport, including Zlatan Ibrahimovic, Pele, Carles Puyol and Tim Henman. He dabbles in all things sport but football is his biggest passion. He was once hit in the head by a wayward strike from Nicky Butt and lived to tell the tale.