Advert

Latest

4 hours ago
Advert
4 hours ago
Advert

Most Popular

20 hours ago
Advert

German Player Wasn't Even On The Pitch When He Conceded Penalty In Bundesliga 2 Game

German Player Wasn't Even On The Pitch When He Conceded Penalty In Bundesliga 2 Game

German second division side Holstein Kiel were involved in one of the most bizarre penalty decisions of all time when they hosted VfL Bochum on Friday night.

In the first half of yesterday's clash at the Holstein-Stadion, with the home side leading 1-0, Bochum striker Silvere Ganvoula M'boussy squandered a decent chance inside the penalty area.

Advert

But as the ball sailed past the far post, Holstein Kiel substitute Michael Eberwein prevented the ball from going harmlessly out of play.

Image: ESPN
Image: ESPN

To the surprise of everyone in the stadium, the referee, clearly unhappy with Eberwein's decision to interfere in play, decided to consult VAR about the incident.

He soon handed the 23-year-old sub a yellow card for stopping the ball going out of play and seconds later, pointed to the penalty spot in a quite remarkable sequence of events.

Ganvoula M'boussy made up for his previous mistake to make it 1-1 from the spot.

Advert

Holstein Kiel went on to win the Bundesliga 2 game thanks to a 52nd minute goal from Janni Luca Serra but the biggest talking point was certainly this outrageous penalty decision.


Thoughts on the above incident? Should it have been a penalty?

Let us know in the comments.

Topics: Football News, Football, referee, Penalty

Jack Kenmare

Jack Kenmare is a writer at SPORTbible. He's interviewed some of the biggest names in sport, including Zlatan Ibrahimovic, Pele, Carles Puyol and Tim Henman. He dabbles in all things sport but football is his biggest passion. He was once hit in the head by a wayward strike from Nicky Butt and lived to tell the tale.

 

Next Up

Conor McGregor Responds To Khabib's Father's 'Plan'

Conor McGregor Responds To Khabib's Father's 'Plan'

4 months ago