When Lionel Messi Apologised For Scoring A Goal
Lionel Messi once apologised for scoring a goal back in 2015.
The six-time Ballon d'Or winner scored in the Club World Cup final against River Plate in a 3-0 victory but refrained from celebrating in normal fashion.
Instead of going wild like he did when he scored in the 2011 Champions League final at Wembley, Messi simply raised his hand in what was almost an apology to the 16,000 River Plate fans that made the trip.
Even as a Newell's Old Boys youth product, the Argentina captain felt bad for "ruining" the moment for River supporters.
"I know how much effort all those fans made in making that trip and how excited they were," he said in a post-match interview with FIFA, via Sport.
More Like ThisMore Like This
"And there was me, the Argentinian, scoring the first goal and ruining it all for them. I don't know if I was actually saying sorry, but it was a type of apology."
It was a thoroughly nice gesture from Messi, who is always one for sportsmanship.
Last year, Messi showed his class by telling the referee not to award a penalty kick in his favour following one his signature slaloming runs in the box.
He rinsed two players with his fancy footwork but the third got his body in front and stopped Messi in his tracks. Messi stumbled to the floor after losing his balance but the referee asked for a VAR review on the incident.
However, Messi immediately told him that he was not fouled and play continued.
Chosen for YouChosen for You
Most Read StoriesMost Read