What Lionel Messi Said To The Referee After Disallowed Goal Against Valenica
Lionel Messi was denied a goal against Valencia, and what he said to the referee following his disallowed effort has been revealed.
The top two sides in the La Liga faced off on Sunday night. As league leaders Barcelona traveled to the Mestalla Stadium to face second place Valencia.
And it was the hosts who opened the scoring. Rodrigo put Valencia ahead on the hour mark. Former Valencia player Jordi Alba then leveled courtesy of a sublime ball from Messi.
(Watch Barcelona equalise in truly breathe taking fashion:)
While Alba's goal was a stunning strike, the main takeaway from the league clash was that of the disallowed goal.
With 30 minutes on the clock, the ball dropped to the Argentine outside the box and his first-time effort was spilled over the line by Valencia keeper Neto.
Messi wheeled away in celebration, thinking he'd marked his recent lucrative contract extension with a goal.
However, Neto managed to convince the referee and his assistants that the whole of the ball hadn't crossed the line and clawed the ball.
Messi in action for Barcelona against Valencia. Image: PA
With goal-line technology not yet introduced in La Liga, unlike several leading leagues around the world, no goal was awarded and played continue, much to the anger of the visiting players.
Clearly frustrated with the officials decision, Messi reportedly told the referee: "You're wrong, now your going to see it," per Spanish outlet Mundo Deportivo.
Barcelona players celebrate the 82nd minute goal. Image: PA
The lino replied by saying: "It was not clear". Referee Ignacio Iglesias Villanueva added: "As I'm not sure, it's not a goal."
Messi continued to remonstrate: "The line is here and the ball is here". Iglesias replies saying: "I was not sure, we're going to see it inside."
Will Spain's top flight introduce technology?