The Premier League Players Who'll Be Without Work Permits Post Brexit

| Last updated 

The Premier League Players Who'll Be Without Work Permits Post Brexit

A British exit from the European Union could have significant implications for the Premier League. Voting to leave has raised questions about the freedom of movement principle which allows athletes from within the EU to work in the UK without the need for a work permit.

The Home Office have strict employment criteria for non-EU players brought into English football and these will now potentially fall over every player born outside of the United Kingdom.

Amongst other regulations, they have to have played a certain percentage of their country's games over a two-year window prior to application.At present, over 100 current Premier League players wouldn't automatically qualify for the required work permits to play here now Britain has voted out of the EU.

Here's a list of the players from each team who would be affected:


Arsenal: Francis Coquelin, Hector Bellerin, Nacho Monreal, and Serge Gnabry.

Bournemouth: Joshua King.

Burnley: Rouwen Hennings.


Chelsea: Loic Remy, Kurt Zouma, Cesar Azpilicueta and Marco Amelia.

Everton: Gerard Deulofeu and Joel Robles.

Hull City: Dusan Kuciak and Brian Lenihan.

Leicester City: N'Golo Kante, Marcin Wasilewski and Robert Huth.


Liverpool: Emre Can, Alberto Moreno, Adam Bogdan, Simon Mignolet, Dejan Lovren, Mamadou Sakho and Tiago Ilori.

Manchester City: Jesus Navas, Eliaquim Mangala, Samit Nasri and Gael Clichy.

Manchester United: Anthony Martial, Ander Herrera, Adnan Januzaj, Morgan Schneiderlin and Timothy Fosu-Mensah.


Middlesbrough: Dimi Konstantopoulos, Tomas Mejias, Michael Agazzi, Damia Abella, Daniel Sanchez Ayala, Tomas Kalas, and Enrique Sola.

Southampton: Juanmi, Oriol Romeu, Jose Fonte, Maarten Stekelenburg and Florin Gardos.

Stoke: Bojan, Joselu, Erik Pieters, Marc Muniesa, Philipp Wollscheid, Jakob Haugaard, Ibrahim Afellay, Giannelli Imbula and Dionatan Teixeira.


Sunderland: Fabio Borini, Ola Toivonen, Patrick van Aanholt, Younes Kaboul, Vito Mannone, Jan Kirchhoff and Jeremain Lens.

Swansea: Bafetimbi Gomis, Angel Rangel, Jordi Amat, Kristoffer Nordfeldt and Leroy Fer.

Tottenham: Kevin Wimmer and Michel Vorm.

Watford: Mario Suarez, Jose Manuel Jurado, Obbi Oulare, Jose Holebas, Etienne Capoue, Nathan Aké, Steven Berghuis, Joel Ekstrand and Costel Pantilimon.

West Brom: Jonas Olsson and Sebastien Pocognoli.

West Ham: Dimitri Payet, Pedro Obiang, Angelo Ogbonna and Adrian.

Topics: Football, brexit


Chosen for YouChosen for You


Spine-Tingling 'Thank You Sergio Ramos' Video Proves He's A Generational Defender, Like No Other

5 hours ago

Most Read StoriesMost Read


Real Madrid Have Confirmed The Departure Of Sergio Ramos After 16 Years At The Club

9 hours ago