To make sure you never miss out on your favourite NEW stories, we're happy to send you some reminders

Click 'OK' then 'Allow' to enable notifications

Not now

The 20-Man Golden Boy Shortlist Has Been Revealed

Josh Lawless

| Last updated 

The 20-Man Golden Boy Shortlist Has Been Revealed

The 20-man shortlist for the 2020 Golden Boy award has been revealed.

The award was created by Italian outlet Tuttosport back in 2003 and is given to the best Under 21 player in Europe playing in one of the leading leagues.

Erling Haaland would appear to be one of the main contenders for the award after an incredible 2020.

Image: PA
Image: PA

The Norwegian man mountain, still only 20, has blossomed into one of the deadliest strikers in world football - scoring 21 goals in his first 23 appearances in all competitions for Borussia Dortmund after signing in December.

Haaland's biggest threat to the coveted prize would appear to be 19-year-old Canadian phenomenon Alphonso Davies, who was integral to Bayern Munich's treble-winning campaign last term.


England stars Jadon Sancho, Mason Greenwood, Phil Foden, Bukayo Saka and Callum Hudson-Odoi have all made the final 20, with Barcelona starlet Ansu Fati and Real Madrid wonderkids Vinicius Jr and Rodrygo Goes receiving recognition for their exploits.

Here is the top 20 in full:

Mitchel Bakker (PSG)
Eduardo Camavinga (Rennes)
Jonathan David (Lille)
Alphonso Davies (Bayern Munich)
Sergiño Dest (Barcelona)
Fabio Silva (Wolves)
Ansu Fati (Barcelona)
Phil Foden (Manchester City)
Ryan Gravenberch (Ajax)
Mason Greenwood (Manchester United)
Erling Haaland (Borussia Dortmund)
Callum Hudson-Odoi (Chelsea)
Deyan Kulusevski (Juventus)
Rodrygo (Real Madrid)
Bukayo Saka (Arsenal)
Jadon Sancho (Borussia Dortmund)
Dominik Szoboszlai (Red Bull Salzburg)
Sandro Tonali (Brescia)
Ferran Torres (Manchester City)
Vinicius (Real Madrid)


Former Real Madrid and Spurs midfielder Rafael van der Vaart was the inaugural recipient back in 2003, with Atletico Madrid and Portugal star Joao Felix the most recent top talent to secure the honour last year.

Topics: Football News, Football, ​Alphonso Davies, Erling Haaland, Jadon Sancho

Josh Lawless
More like this

Chosen for YouChosen for You


Ian Wright 'wanted to cry' ahead of Arsenal's game against Wolves, the reason tugs at the heartstrings

23 minutes ago

Most Read StoriesMost Read

Roy Keane has the most Roy Keane reaction to Dynamo's insane magic trick in the Sky Sports studio

2 hours ago