Why Roberto Firmino's Goal Against Crystal Palace Shouldn't Have Stood
He may have scored a perfectly weighted chip in Liverpool's 4-2 win over Crystal Palace last weekend but Roberto Firmino could have easily cost Jurgen Klopp's side three points because of his celebration.
Before the ball crossed the line, Firmino decided to take his shirt off to celebrate. We all know that a yellow card is branded to a player if he removes his shirt. Firmino's decision could have given the referee no other choice but to blow up for an indirect free kick.
Andre Marriner could have given a free-kick before the ball had crossed the line - no goal.
The law clearly states that: "If play is stopped to caution the player, an indirect free kick shall be awarded to the opposing team from the position of the ball when play was stopped."
Firmino's top was off before the ball even crossed the line pic.twitter.com/nuBj30WSJo
- Calum Paton (@calum_paton) October 29, 2016
More Like ThisMore Like This
Is it really worth a yellow card, or even worse, a disallowed goal?
According to the Liverpool Echo, this decision is a grey area for referees, as goal celebrations which see a caution for taking shirts off are administered because of unsporting play.
What are your thoughts on the matter?
Let us know.
Chosen for YouChosen for You
Most Read StoriesMost Read