To make sure you never miss out on your favourite NEW stories, we're happy to send you some reminders

Click 'OK' then 'Allow' to enable notifications

Not now

Kevin De Bruyne Beats Harry Kane And Ruben Dias To PFA Player Of The Year

Ryan Sidle

| Last updated 

Kevin De Bruyne Beats Harry Kane And Ruben Dias To PFA Player Of The Year

Kevin de Bruyne has been named the surprise winner of the PFA Player of the Year award, with fans expecting Ruben Dias or Harry Kane to lift the award.

De Bruyne's excellent season for Manchester City in the 2019/20 season earned him the crown of Player of the Year, despite City finishing 18 points behind champions Liverpool.

This season the award was expected to go to teammate Dias, who transformed City's defence this season and won the FWA's version of the award, or Kane, who finished the season as the league's top scorer and assister, despite a poor season from Tottenham Hotspur.

However on Sunday it was announced that the Belgian midfielder had become only the third man to 'defend' the award, after Thierry Henry and Cristiano Ronaldo, despite starting just 23 games this season.

Whilst the 29-year-old was basking in his impressive achievement, fans on social media were not too impressed with the players' decision to vote for the former Chelsea player.

De Bruyne's teammate Phil Foden, who had a huge breakout season for Guardiola's team, won the Young Player of the Year award.

Featured Image Credit: PFA

Topics: Manchester City, Tottenham Hotspur, Premier League, Ruben Dias, Kevin de Bruyne, Harry Kane

Ryan Sidle
More like this

Chosen for YouChosen for You


Uber Eats driver stops basketball game after walking on court to deliver McDonald’s

6 hours ago

Most Read StoriesMost Read

Jurgen Klopp claims 'nobody knows' how Chelsea have spent so much money in another transfer window rant

11 hours ago