Advert

When Rio Ferdinand Became A Goalkeeper And Faced A Penalty During His Time At Manchester United

Published 
| Last updated 

When Rio Ferdinand Became A Goalkeeper And Faced A Penalty During His Time At Manchester United

Rio Ferdinand once went in goal for Manchester United in one of the most extraordinary FA Cup ties in recent memory.

The United defender donned the gloves and became a goalkeeper, even facing a penalty during his cameo in net.

Image: PA
Image: PA
Image: PA
Image: PA
Advert

Why did he end up in goal? Well, Edwin van der Sar was replaced at half-time by Tomasz Kuszczak who was sent off in the second-half.

The Pole received his marching orders by referee Martin Atkinson for bringing down Portsmouth striker Milan Baros.

Despite Anderson and Wayne Rooney being inside the box, he was shown a straight red card.

With Sir Alex Ferguson making all of his substitutions, he had to turn to his outfield players on the pitch with Ferdinand burdening the goalkeeping responsibilities.

Advert

Centre-back partner Nemanja Vidic and Cristiano Ronaldo chipped in with some words as Ferdinand put on United's keeper shirt and wrapped his hands in a pair of gloves before immediately facing a Sulley Muntari spot kick.

To his credit, Ferdinand dived the right way but he was unable to save Muntari's bullet strike from the spot.

Image: PA
Image: PA
Advert
Image: PA
Image: PA

Muntari's goal in the 78th minute settled the clash as Ferdinand conceded just once while between the sticks.

After dumping United out of the cup, 'Pompey' went onto win the competition - beating Cardiff City 1-0 in the final.

Topics: Football News, Football, Manchester United, FA Cup, Rio Ferdinand, Portsmouth

Nasir Jabbar
More like this
Advert
Advert
Advert

Chosen for YouChosen for You

Football

Anthony Martial Has Agreed A Move Away From Manchester United, It's A Done Deal

4 hours ago

Most Read StoriesMost Read

Boxing

Anthony Joshua 'To Accept £15m Step-Aside Fee To Allow Tyson Fury To Face Oleksandr Usyk'

19 hours ago